Ascension of the Soul

in #art7 years ago

500-ascension_of_the_soul_metaphysical_visionary2.jpg

Mixed media on canvas
Original is sold

I think of death as an ascension into the womb of the Earth.

I had three small canvases and I wanted to use them to play with color. I had acrylics. I wondered what would happen if I baked the paintings after I played with them. Ignore for the moment that I was an absolute idiot to put paintings in my kitchen oven and bake them. There was a smell. I didn’t leave them in long enough to turn black or catch fire. I pulled them out bubbling. Ignore for the moment that I was an absolute idiot for not at least wearing a respirator. I was mesmerized by the boiling patterns that had emerged.

The patterns reminded me of fractal tangles of roots. I stacked the paintings and began making a tree, going over the little calderas with oils, tracing the observations that became what you see.

earth-divider.jpg

Art Prints

Art Prints

Art Prints

Art Prints

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54960.01
ETH 2314.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32