The Struggle Of Cover DesigningsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago


Designing the next book cover for the book I'm publishing soon.
It's weird how with some books the ideas just pop into my head like crazy, But this one was a bit difficult. I don't even know if this page was the right choice.

Qualities of a good cover design

It needs to..

  • Stick out, In the endless sea of books
  • Be unique
  • Be professional ( I struggle)
  • Target the correct audience.

I feel like the candies in the background and the swear word clearly shown will help, Many sweary coloring book artists add a "star" or symbol. I like my swear words to SCREAM OFF THE COVER.

Occasionally I hire people to design my covers but with my sweary books I have designed them all myself.

This was colored with my Wacom cintiq, Using clip studio paint.
This was what it looked like originally before I changed it up.
As you can see a lot of flaws.

Midnight and regular edition books

People have taken a liking to these, The regular books have a white based background, While the "midnight" ones have a black background. This makes it so the colors "pop" off the page. It's a lot of fun!

Here is colored page I used for the regular edition.

Here are a couple others I published.. And yes I designed those overs too.


Sort:  

I love your simple and eye catching designs @kaylinart. The last design made me laugh! Thanks for sharing!

Thank you! I'm really glad you enjoyed them hehe ;)

Haha. Love your personality. Steem on! :)

JUST BEAUTIFUL like you! Don't have any other words to say.

Awww that is so sweet thanks hehe :)

I always like your candor when you are writing about your business progress. Best of luck on your new coloring book. I like that last cover - and your new one, too. Stand out! :D

Thank you! I am definitely trying to stand out as much as possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98