My FREEBIE Portfolio ALREADY Made Me Money!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago


Remember when I posted about how I wanted to change my tactics for this year? Offer more freebies that way I can hopefully spread my name, and make money.
For those of you into photography, Or art.
I highly recommend giving away your stuff for FREE!
I was skeptical when I set up a profile on Pixabay.

A coloring page often takes me HOURS to draw. Giving it away for free, When the person who downloads it doesn't even have to mention me, Is a little scary. But after using this site to beautify my Steemit posts for over six months, I decided to give it a try!

This place seems almost baren.

Many of the contributors on Pixabay appear to be inactive, My number ranking is already at 94, and I haven't been on very long.
This could be a bad sign, Who knows.

On Pixabay there is a "Coffee" button, Where people can donate money to you, Pixabay also lets you upload a selfie and your website and such. They seem to work with artists/photographers so they can spread the word about the work that they do.

Today I received my first donation!

I randomly received a 2.00 payment via Paypal! How exciting.
Sure it's only 2.00 But I've been on the website for 16 days, And I was on vacation for a chunk of that time. So I wasn't able to upload much.

Here is my profile

I'm going to keep experimenting and see if this a good way to earn a bit of extra money. Who knows maybe I can drive some traffic over to Steemit, That is why I used my Steemit sign picture :)

Most people are skeptical about giving away hard work for free.

I feel the same way, Especially when you work your butt of making something, Just to give it away and get nothing in return kind of sucks, But I feel like this is how businesses work these days. And it makes me feel better knowing that someone who may not be able to afford coloring books may be enjoying the free pictures I've been posting.

Would you give away your art for free? Why or why Not?

Sort:  

There is a huge market for good photographs which is steadily being cornered by some of the big players (like Getty Images). Giving away photographs is a way to get an audience and if one can collect some tips on the way, that is a great plus. An angle for photographs which is used on a few sites like https://www.dreamstime.com and even for graphics like https://thenounproject.com/ is to give away a smaller size image and charge for larger size images.

I love that! I personally use photos a lot and I'm greatful for photographers. I sadly am not a photographer. But I can offer my fine art! I'm hoping to learn some day.

I really really like your art. I just looked at your profile and fell in love with the little bunny there. Thank you very much for sharing. I hope you don´t mind if I take some of your art and write some poems insired by it and post it here.

Thank you!! I don't mind it at all hehe :) Thats why I put it on there. I'm glad to see my bunny got approved. LOL I uploaded him very recently.

If I have something as beautiful as your art ro give away...yes.

Aww thank you :)

You got money, now you can buy socks!
Pretty ones of course!

OMG Yes! You can never have too many socks lol.

I snow bird between Nebraska and Nevada twice per year, The photographs I haven't taken have probably cost me 1000's on sites like Dreamstime and Pixabay.

Wow! Cost you? Have you gotten a good amount of profit as a result?

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jan 19. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $6.08 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 19 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55