How To Draw A Unicorn Head

in #art8 years ago

I will eventually do more unicorns, Full body, More fantasy like, But I wanted to start with a basic Unicorn head. I also have Panda bears, Tulips, And Mushrooms coming up, Be sure to follow me @kaylinart so you don't miss it!

Draw an oval, A big circle and small circle

Connect the lines with a curved natural line

Add the Horn, Ears,

If you are drawing a horse head, Avoid the horn LOL

Add an eye

Add the nostril and mouth

Erase junk lines

Start adding more natural lines

Add hair

Decorate the horn

Add the areas where you will apply shades

Start shading

Shade more

You may want to look at another horse picture as reference. Look at the different light sources and where it's hitting. Decide if you want to shad there or other areas.

Finish Shading

I did this a bit rough, Because I was going to use a paper tortillion /paper stump to soften the shades. NOTE that if you do it this way, use minimal pressure so you don't damage the paper.

Smooth shades, Now you're done :)

Sort:  

Note to all: don't draw your unicorn in pen

Hahaha This is the best!!! If i even tried to attempt this, I bet it would look a lot like this or worse. Using a pen was a great idea i think! It Brought some comedy to steemit. Haha Great job on your attempt at a unicorn, its awesome!

Awww man! Everyone needs to try it.

LOL Nice arm you got there hahhhaa

Seriously, it looks like an arm decked out in gear from Mad Max: Fury Road

EXACTLY hahaha!! Hey at least you tried! Use pencil next time!

And learn how to orient a picture taken on camera phone lol

GOod job hehehe :) Plus if you use Imgur that would help you reverse the orientation @daut44

Very nice Kaylin. Nice detail and shading. It comes alive a lot. Very nice drawing. Next post, how to draw Kaylin? :D

Very kind horse. :D Thanks. I like it.

No problem :) Heheh

I've seen a few of your work. you make it seem so easy. :-)

Hehe thank you! I try to break it down so you can create it too.

you're welcome

i like unicorns, brings back memories about Narnia and Harry Potter :)

Yes!! I want to do an Emma Watson post too hehe.

I was very good at technical drawing at school (came top in my class in 4th year) but my horses looked like rhinos and my 'still lifes' looked like I was on drugs, so this scientific approach to drawing is an interesting way of doing things for me. I've recently asked for an index or storage area and these drawings will definitely be going in there. Thx :-)

I have nothing to say but to continue to like your work.

Now you're really challenging us. Could this be modified so we could draw Bojack Horseman :)

Heheh possibly! There are limitless ways to modify it :)

A very good friend of mine has been obsessed with horses and unicorns her entire life! She set about learning how to draw and paint them and told me once that it's one of the hardest creatures on earth to draw to scale and with correct anatomy.

Wow, you are so talented, very great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69672.37
ETH 3356.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74