How To become GOOD At Something

in #art8 years ago


So Many people tell me that they want to be good at stuff!Usually, when they see my drawings and paintings, They wish they could draw and paint the way I can. Little do they know, What has gone behind the scenes for so long.

Practice

Everyone says this! But it's true. Practice everyday! YES, Every day! Even for ten minutes.
I've been practicing art for 11 years now! I started getting serious at the age of 12. It has paid off.
I'm not "Talented."
If you look at my earlier drawings, You'll see I never had anymore potential than anyone else. It's because I practiced almost everyday for years I built up the skill. It became my passion, My obsession.

Inspired practice

This is when you are inspired by something, And have a rapid burst of excitement which helps you improve quickly. This is focused more on short-term rather than the long-term.
This isn't good to maintain Because eventually, the inspiration starts to run out! It's better for you to focus more on the long term!
Here are some ways you can inspire yourself quick

  • Watch videos of professionals
  • Buy yourself a new tool.

I use-inspired practice frequently. I watch time-lapse drawing videos on youtube; It's a free way to get a bunch of inspiration so I can draw.

  • I also buy myself some music, This helps.

New Experiences

Learn quicker "tricks" to help you speed through what you want to learn. You can also go to different events, like art shows. Museums, Concerts. These will help you learn more quickly.

Developmental practice

You are choosing to improve. This is one of the boring methods. It's more academic. Which helps you rapidly improve, The boring way. You can buy a how to draw books. Or do from life drawings.

Sort:  

For a long time I had the habit of writing lyrics every day, and I'd tell my songwriter friends to do the same... they'd say "I can't write every day! I only write when I'm inspired!" which to me (if I'm brutally honest) sounds like a great way to stay a terrible songwriter.

I like the expression "momentum over motivation"... keep practising every day and that way, when inspiration comes, you can really take advantage of it.

Thanks for the tips and have a great day Lin

I love this! I love that quote :)

10,000 Hours of Practice - WisdomGroup
www.wisdomgroup.com/blog/10000-hours-of-practice/
In the book Outliers , author Malcolm Gladwell says that it takes roughly ten thousand hours of practice to achieve mastery in a field.

Josh Kaufman points out how it only takes 20 hours of breaking down essentials to get started with focused practice. https://first20hours.com/

I absolutely love the 10,000 rule. I feel like with drawing, I've already hit it. Or almost hit it.

great drawings, keep going

Thank you so much :)

I have found that when in a thought process of "well I am not improving much" do a repaint/redraw of an old piece. It is rather surprising how much of a difference there can be and often its enough to keep you going long enough to improve some more.

Since I've joined Steemit (going on 3 months now) I've bought myself some art supplies that belong to me...and not my kids. I have been practicing every day because I love it. I had forgotten for so many years how much joy it actually gives me...and now I want all the pens and markers and paint and erasers...lots of erasers. LOL

Do it with passion.

Well said and I couldn't agree more
upvote and follow

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53