Finding unexpected beauty & healing in things worth chopping your fingers off for.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

22635269_10210044478818085_940777578_n(1).jpg

Stumbling along a west coast beach on a cold NZ winter day, something thousands of years old emerged from the sea rolling in to shore. Beauty appeared..

Ancient Kauri Gum

Pronounced "Cody" with a rolled R.

Healing with creativity

I am currently severely ill with mercury poisoning from "safe' amalgam fillings. I had set up & planned to make a vlog about it today, but some days, like today, stringing two words together makes me feel and look like beavis & butthead. Plus my face & neck are so swollen from the mercury, I think i'll wait a while. If you've experienced mercury, or any other heavy metal poisoning you'll know how shit it can be. Catch me on a good day & i'll Vlog about it.

I was drawn to a collection of Kauri gum i found recently, and since it requires little brain power, I have been sitting in the sun with a knife called the "koch messer" (true story) Trying not to cut my fingers off while getting the oxidized crust off the gum. Hugely underestimated how therapeutic it would be.

Untitled design (20).jpg

using my koch messer to remove the oxidized crust

The Kauri tree is endemic to New Zealand & is a protected species!

Untitled design (21).jpg

Feeling blessed to have found some of this beauty. The next step is to sand & polish the pieces. Only 7020 more to go..
22627712_10210044481378149_4066133_n.jpg

black-divider.png

Useful info on Kauri

22547668_10210044481618155_880859164_n.jpg

Sort:  

I want some. I want some. i want soooommmee!!!

Hi first sorry for your illness hope you get well soon but am kinda confuse the stones are actually medicinal? cause the title says beauty and healing or you just find pleasure in collecting them pls if its not too much to ask can you explain a little

Hi! It can be used to treat burns, i just found it healing working with the Kauri Gum ^_^ Thanks!

okay thanks for your quick response and I hope you get well soon

It is a wonderful find. I was lucky enough to purchase some at a gem market in Queensland. I was looking for a going away present for my beautiful Maori neighbours and a big piece winked at me. Such a perfect gift for them. :)

Aww that is a very special gift. Awesome!

Oh man that sucks, the crap they say is safe and then people get ill, hope you get better quickly.
That Kauri Gum is a beauty, didn't know it had medical healing also.

Thank you! yeah that's a huge lie that putting mercury in your mouth is safe. Not too sure if they use Kauri gum for anything medicinal these days but it's used for varnish & incense. And nice to look at!

Good stuff to know thanks. @biglipsmama, what is a budgetist?

Hey @pjcswart,
Someone that helps others with budgeting, but I'm a Solutionist Budgetist, which I help with ideas for problems within budgets thinking out side the box. (If I don't have the answers I ask others.)
There's solution's to things sometimes we can't always see the solutions.
Hope that helps with your question.

Really interesting. Would that typically be for individuals or companies?

Thanks, Typically both

Congratulations @kaykunoichi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I want some. I want some. i want soooommmee!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63