Everyone can be an Artist - Lesson 1

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemit people, this is my second story about my progress as an artist and about how everyone can be an artist. When I studied art at university drawing was out of fashion and abstract art was very in. I never had to take a drawing course so I had to teach myself. Shortly after I graduated I began to teach other artists how to draw so I researched like crazy. I first started with shapes. I'll tell you about basic shapes in a minute....

Today I bought a web cam for my computer and I am so excited. When I learn how to use it, I'll be able to post some of the lessons I teach my students. I love the idea that with Steemit I can share things that I have learned in my life and anyone can benefit without cost.

Until I post images or videos, since I'm still learning how to use Steemit, here is a short lesson in starting how to draw.

  1. Make cutouts of a circle, a triangle and a square. You can use a piece of computer paper and a pencil to start.
    Trace a bottom of a can to draw a circle. Then take the bottom of a small square cookie box (or anything you have that is a square) and trace that. Then trace a second square and draw a line from one corner to the opposite corner and you'll have two triangles.

  2. Cut out your shapes and make more of these shapes if you like. Then place them on top of another piece of computer paper and trace your shapes, put them together and imagine what you see. For example a triangle on top of a square could be a house. A circle could be the sun.

I know this sounds like a very simple exercise, but I still find it fun to do and I always start my students off with this. Everything you see is made up of a circle, a triangle and a square. Start looking around and you'll see these shapes everywhere.

Have fun! I'll post something else to do with these shapes tomorrow.

Kath

Sort:  

Great!!!

Thanks for commenting. I'm looking forward to posting more.

Thanks for information . We need more people like you .

Awe, thank you. It's great to be part of this amazing Steemit community.

For resources to learn art/drawing check out this.

Thank you, I'll be posting more ideas today and every day. Soon images and videos.

This is awesome. I can't wait to see your videos!

I really appreciate you saying this. I'm looking forward to making the videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60164.54
ETH 2420.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43