Alice's portrait

in #art6 years ago

The inspiration for this portrait came from a photo I took of Alice with my cell phone in an olive grove. I liked the backlighting and the natural background.

Concerning the composition: I found a lovely picture of a flowering fuschia, and mixed it with the natural elements in the photo. Then I added the flower and butterfly on the bottom left.

Technique: I painted the picture first in acrylic, and took all the time I needed playing with the composition. The face is painted in shades of green in preparation for the warm glazes which will come later. Then I laid on a transparent white veil with an oil/glue/varnish emulsion and continued the painting in oil. To get the subtle skin tones and intense rose colors, a number of glazes were necessary, with scumbled whites in between.

The finished painting:
ALICE-finished.jpg

The acrylic underpainting:
alicepainting2.jpg

The original photo of Alice:
alice-photo.jpg

The flowering fuschias:
200214031-001.jpg

Sort:  

@masterbot has been called by @kathleenscarboro to give you 5.48% upvote!
Check this post for information about delegation. Make me strong!

Wow what an amazing painting......this painting portrays alot.....thanks for sharing with us @kathleenscarboro

And thank you for appreciating my work, @universalpro!

great! you do such precise work - I wish I had the kind of discipline you have in your rendering. It may not be apparent in my work, but if something doesn't work out, I rarely try to fix it, I just wander off into a different direction, and save the idea for next time.
upvoted, resteemed and shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/968810173425954816
just fyi - I embedded Twitter on the VAG, so you can see all the stuff I shared from almost exclusively Steemit artists:
https://www.vagallery.com/visionary-twitter.html

Thank you @thermoplastic, I am quite dogged in my approach. I do a lot of digital compositions before deciding what to paint, so at least that part of my work goes quickly. And of course, this is my little Alice and I know her face so well...Hugs.

Hello @kathleenscarboro - Hugs back to you ..... I am just about to experience that kind of dogged approach and discipline. I have, for some time now, a request for a portrait painting, based on a drawing that I have already done and gave that friend as a gift over a year ago. She is quite wealthy, and I know she would pay me well (beyond what I usually get for my work) - so here it is, a little self-promotion, the digital composition of what I aim to do (maybe I should post it, but I think I better wait until I am actually doing it, and record the steps):

Zdenka 266 dpi-stage4-crp-40x50cm-web.jpg

visionaryartcom Visionary Art tweeted @ 28 Feb 2018 - 11:28 UTC

Alice's portrait — Steemit

steemit.com/art/@kathleens… / https://t.co/nco3by7gKk

Disclaimer: I am just a bot trying to be helpful.

This is outstanding portrait art !

Thank you @akkha. I looked at your posts and enjoyed your flower photos very much. I am a flower lover too. Best to you.

Many many thanks my friend for visiting my post ! See you around !!

Fortunately, Alice has such a beautiful portrait. I am amazed at the ability of the color composition you play, looks beautiful and nice in the eye. Nice or Aduhai sekali (indonesian) @kathleenscarboro

Thank you @irwansyah270889. Portrait painting is always slightly excruciating, but I still enjoy it!

You are welcome. For a masterpiece we have to take great pains..

Especially when you are painting someone you love.

Yes, that's right. I've experienced it before.
Alice is very lucky to have you, the one who loves her very much.

Awesome as usual you keep challenging the quality of your last posts, keep up the good work.

Thank you @ajai; glad you like it.

Amazing!! Thanks for sharing!!!😍

Thank you @abundancedeal, always nice to hear.

You got a 0.98% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @kathleenscarboro!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Transfer 0.500 SBD or 0.750 steem to @mrbean1 and put the link of your post in the public memo I GIVE you FOLLOW AND10 good UPVOT and resteem by @mrbean1

click here to read more  about me
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65955.30
ETH 3276.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70