The Lady of RhamnousiasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Nemesis, Goddess and punisher of too good luck (hubris) and arrogance against the Gods.

A strange sketch I made this morning before going to battle with the next page of Phill from GCHQ


The Lady of Rhamnousia

Sort:  

You know, Rhamnous is an ancient city in Greece (Ράμνους) located opposite the isle of Eyboia, near Athens. There were two temples found in the ruins, devoted to the goddess of Retribution (Νέμεσις) - in fact I do not know of any other temples to that fearsome deity anywhere. Thanks to Rhamnousia, the Greeks were victorious over the ungodly Persians, at the battle of Marathon; or, so the story goes...

According to some sources, Nemesis had offspring, the Telchines (Τελχίνες), terrible spirits wielding magic powers, excelling in many skills, potion-makers, inventors and ironsmiths. They forged the Sword of Kronus (Saturn) and Poseidon's Trident.

-- ok ok the lesson stops here, I just wanted to make a point that there are so many wonderful unknown stories in mythology, written thousands of years ago, that inspired the modern-day fantasy literature.

You are like me - you love mythology. I was studying classical languages at the gymnasium (high school) so I have used a lot of time with your heritage.

That's good to hear -- unfortunately, it seems that everyone is interested in Greek History, Language and Mythology, except the Greeks! Anyway, I was not referring only to Greek myths in the comment above, I am sure that many cultures have wonderful tales in their mythology that are not known to a wide audience. Egypt is the first to come to mind, but also the more recent Poetic Edda.

The Edda is kind of my heritage :) so I know it quite well, but I do have interest in many different mythologies. One of the things I'd like to examine is the ancient Slavic mythology that is almost lost because they didn't have a written language. Most of it is known from Western sources as the Northern powers, also Denmark, had a rather unsubtle idea of how to turn people into Christians.

Outstanding drawing....
Thank's for sharing

Well...thank you.

sketches that are full of meaning and beautiful art

Thank you so much.

Beautiful art! Thanks for sharing @katharsisdrill

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77