The KrakensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

One of the ornaments I posted yesterday was a strange octopus. It was meant to be used in a story that I wrote as a test scenario to an email-based roleplaying game, but I never really got to finish it. Contrary to most of the other ornament I have made this one is made in Inkscape and is therefore a SVG-file that can be scaled to any size.

If you go to my Diaspora profile you can download the original.

Find it here


The Octopus in the center is the Kraken a strange creature living in the bottom of the sea as it is envisioned by Alfred, Lord Tennyson the splendid Victorian poet.

Here is the poem :)

The Kraken

Below the thunders of the upper deep;
Far, far beneath in the abysmal sea,
His ancient, dreamless, uninvaded sleep
The Kraken sleepeth: faintest sunlights flee
About his shadowy sides: above him swell
Huge sponges of millennial growth and height;
And far away into the sickly light,
From many a wondrous grot and secret cell
Unnumbered and enormous polypi
Winnow with giant arms the slumbering green.
There hath he lain for ages and will lie
Battening upon huge sea-worms in his sleep,
Until the latter fire shall heat the deep;
Then once by man and angels to be seen,
In roaring he shall rise and on the surface die.

There is little doubt that it was the inspiration for H.P. Lovecrafts Cthulhu.


Sort:  

Here is a commented version of the Tennyson poem:

http://www.victorianweb.org/authors/tennyson/kraken.html

Everytime I log into Kraken.com, I hear the words; "Release the kraken!" :-D

Awesome design!

Cg

Yes, I have never used Kraken.com, but I have made a lot of art and stories with the Kraken monster... Maybe I should also try our the Kraken-exchange - I just read that it was very expensive...

Yes that's what I meant, the Kraken exchange :-). I don't know if they're expensive, I used them first and have stuck with them, they are reliable, and that for me is worth a few extra pennies, that they might charge.

I also use Bittrex, for the same reason, and the fact that you can't trade Steem or SBD on Kraken.

The only really bad expense I have come across, is withdrawing GBP, it is cheaper for me to withdraw euros (€0.09 fee, as opposed to £60!) and then let my bank convert back to GBP.

Anyway, back to the Kraken; I find it such a lovely word; it feels nice to say, and to be associated with, which is why I originally clicked on your article, and was pleasantly surprised by the art work :-)

Cg

Yes, I just read it somewhere :) and I actually liked the name and logo much more than the rest. So I might try them out too.

As for the Kraken it is a historic monster that figures on some old maps from the seventeenth century or the like.

EDIT: Seems to be a Dane that described it the first time off of Norway.

Gives me a Cthulhu vide.

I really enjoyed your poetry and also the ornement which is perfectly sized. And I also like the way you format your post, it's pleasant to read :)

Thank you very much!

Yeah, I can for sure see the inspiration from Cthulhu, haha. I dig it a lot! (Probably because I love anything horror related :p) Love that ornament design, by the way!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81