You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Documenta 14: The Parthenon of Books / Der Parthenon der Bücher [English/Deutsch]

in #art7 years ago

I have lately come to the conclusion that I prefer artworks that can be held in the hand and brought around without too much bother (like a book or a small sculpture. But this work touches upon one of my greatest worries these days - the return of censorship in both the far left and the far right camps. And I guess that it really has to be shouted out loud. So, like you, I am a little ambiguous about this. But we have to listen to the people that until recently has lived under dictatorships - we are too spoiled to remember what happened in the twentieth century... not too long ago.

But Documenta is always bigger and better - it has to be big. I think I like this one, because it looks backward in time.

Sort:  

Thanks for your assessment! I've read that the Kassel people asked for a large artwork like this and they got it. Documenta probably needs iconic images to spread the word ;-)

When Marta Minujín first realized this artwork in Argentina, it had been to celebrate the end of censorship in her country (and she made the installation from her own pocket). Now the artwork eventually stands for the beginning of a new era of censorship. Minujín said, that "Europe is currently burning." and "My monument wants to visualize the importance of commitment for peace."

Posting about this on a uncensored social network somehow completes the circle...

Yes, The art machine needs something big :) and I agree with all the things you say. The internet is about to turn into a nightmare. A fight worth fighting (even though I hate fights :).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 61255.54
ETH 2640.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46