You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Creative Commons can help Artists to Create Collaborative Quality Content [Case Study]

in #art8 years ago

I agree with you, that copyright laws need to be updated. Still the foundation of copyright is old, dating back to the eighteen century, and without this basic paradigm: that something immaterial created can be assigned the creator as his property automatic and for free, none of the above really matters. Without this foundation, no license CC, GPL, BSD etc. would be possible, because you can not put a licence on something that you do not own.

I have posted quite a few things as CC-by (look at my steemit-blog most of it is CC) but I am still very much a supporter of copyright as it is actually the foundation of a free art. The problem is that today the laws favours the artistic corporations and publishing more than it favours the artist.

I am glad that you are on bandcamp which seems to be one of the good new solutions to help getting the most money to the creators, but I am not impressed with all this free promotion on Youtube, the new publishing-vampire, that earns money on big data-collection of it's users and authors.

Don't take this as criticism, I am well aware of the reality of artists these days, and know that you have to make do with what is there, but the real solution to our problem is not Creative Commons - but more like tolls as Bandcamp, Patreon, Kickstarter. They are not perfect (I prefer Bandcamp of this lot) but at least they are a step in the right direction.

I have a Bandcamp profile and will check out your music - sounds interesting :)

Sort:  

Bandcamp can also have Creative Commons licensed music (if you decide to set it up): your music will be free to download but with non-commercial, share-alike license.

Don't know if Creative Commons is the right solution, but, as far as I know, it's the only current popular alternative to old-fashioned copyright.

Bandcamp, Patreon and Kickstarter are music selling, crowdfounding platforms and not copyright alternatives, that's why I didn't mention them.

Thank you for your feedback, I will also check your Bandcamp!

I was just trying to look at the whole picture of how artist can earn some money when working full time. It is true that CC is a good way to share and cooperate between artists (look at my profile @katharsisdrill and my social media blog I have posted a lot of CC-by artwork), but we can not live by promotion, and while software developers can have lucrative jobs that is not always true for artists. That was why I mentioned the crowd-funding possibilities. I license my work when there is no use for it, only because i like to share.

Also nice music - you are very good at playing sitar - I will buy your album... to support :)

I am very happy you liked my music and thank you if you will buy the EP!

I checked your links and I am following you here on Steemit, very cool illustration and artworks, and checked your website too.

About CC license, you are right, we can not only live by promotion, but this license doesn't prevent from selling one's works.

For example, having a free for non-commercial use artwork doesn't mean you can not accept money for its commercial use (or for a higher quality version).

If you are a visual artist, you may have a CC license on the digital copy but still charge money for the physical one, etc

Still the problem of being an artist and not receiving the right economical reward is a very old and common problem (in the past centuries also very important artists had it): now we have some new opportunities with social media and crowdfounding, but still is not easy!

Thanks again for your kind words and support :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59612.39
ETH 2600.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48