Ragnarok - by Louis MoesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)


I just found this book in the shelf and has been wasting some time admiring the beautiful drawings of Louis Moe, a Danish-Norwegian artist from the early twentieth century.

The book is called Ragnarok - a poem of pictures and is inspired by the Vǫluspá - the beautiful, but sinister poem and foretelling of the fate of the world. I just took some pictures and took them a short trip past Gimp for your viewing pleasure.

Louis Moe's drawings has actually been quite an inspiration for me and I guess that I had him in the back of my head making these mythological drawings:

And also in the ornament below :)

There is no explanations in the book so I will let you have this small collection of drawings from the book uncommented. But the general feeling of doom and downfall should be clear, and the mythological motives should also ring a bell for the ones knowledgeable of Nordic history.



















Sort:  

Great find! Something about his pen techniques reminds me of Edward Gorey...

It's fun how things that are an integral part of your local world, can be all new to others. Louis Moe is very well known in Denmark.

Great stuff! Nice to see where the influences come from. I just got into the Vikings TV-series so this works great for me atm

it's very beautiful post!!
Great job dear @ katharsisdrill :) I follow now :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44