Odin on the ask yggdrasil - a photomanipulation

in #art6 years ago (edited)



@ocrdu lately made his second Ivy sculpture and when he asked me to look at it I immediately saw that it was natures own depiction of a scene from the Hávamál that has fascinated me a lot. You can see a drawing I made long time ago here: Odin hanging from the Ask Yggdrasil. And here is another post concerning the same subject: The rune-stones of Jelling, and a new realisation.

So I have made a photomanipulation, not at all better than the original sculpture, on the contrary I find it hard to compete with nature and @ocrdu in such matters, but at least it shows how I see the figure of Odin in the wood.



Ocrdu's Odin sculpture

Sort:  

Heehee, nice one! Didn't see that coming; I should look longer at these ivy things, and even if I do, I don't think I would have seen this.

Re Staff Ends: would the top, righthand bit in The First One make an interesting staff ornament? I mean this part:

You will have to supply your own symbolism if you use it 8-).

I just wrote a very long post about all this. As for the new picture...

I somehow see a woman with a child. Could be African, but it could also be the numerous other mother child archetypes - Isis and Horus, Mary and Jesus etc.

ocrdu_moder_barn.jpg

My first association was one of the horned Celtic gods.

It's a nice game, this. The brain will interpret whatever you throw at it, even when there is nothing much to interpret.

I have the same thing when walking about photographing; some shapes in nature bring images to mind, and I then try to take a photo that is a summary of this. It's as close to art as photography can get without manipulating a scene, I think, but I still don't think it is, where your works are.

Just a few examples here.

just need to drink from the well of mimir and give an eye in return to get wisdom and knowledge, past <3

This is actually quite interesting !
It looks like ( to me) an old man with a hat on.
Very cool !
really cool.jpg

Odin was often shown as an old man with a hat :)

Outstanding.....

Outstanding creativity and artistic artwork , the Odin sculpture looks unique . Nice artwork

you are too good.really it must be said that it is wonderful and it must be liked to others.keep it up.looks amazing

Wonderful Art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75