Obed MarshsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

I am not completely satisfied with this portrait of the fictional Maine captain that is slowly turning into a fishman, but here it is any way. It was meant to be part of the series of characters from the pulp-author H.P. Lovecraft's shortstories, but I think I will have to try again.

You can read about the damned captain in the short-story called :

The Shadow over Innsmouth


The two previous drawings can be seen here: Abdul Alhazred and here: Keziah Mason

The drawing is made with the open source painting application Krita.


Obed Marsh

Sort:  

Such a deep and dense drawing, that looks like an illustration from the short-storie's first edition. I can't understand, why you are not satisfied with it.

It is something in the composition that bothers me. Not sure how it should be solved. You often use a lot of time of the things that you are most unsure about, while the ones that are right from the beginning is easy to make. This one was the tricky sort.

Well, after a second look, I noticed that there might be not enough space between the chair and the wall for the standing person. I somehow also missed seeing a foot from the woman behind the chair. Loving it anyways :-)

I think that I also want to twist the legs of Obad so they point more towards the viewer.

kinda scary :(

It was supposed to be exactly that :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82