My first digital paintingssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Found these while looking through some stuff yesterday, and thought that they could be an interesting blog-post. The time stamp says 2005 - these early tests were made on Photoshop 5.5 running on wine on my Linux system. They were made using the mouse! which kind of blows my brain just thinking about it. But I have done a lot of cumbersome things when trial'n'erroring me through life. Because of a bug in wine I could only draw in lines, which probably was for the best. A mouse is a lousy drawing tool. The first one I only have in one file, but a friend of mine asked me to save the next at intervals as he wanted to learn from them. After this I actually forgot about digital painting until I got my Wacom Cintiq 7-8 years or so later.

Not sure they are of any use. They are not Creative Commons, but can be used if you for some reason think you would like to. Just link to this page. The files are heavily compressed, so they should not be too heavy on your connection.




--

--

--

--

--


Sort:  

Really nice stuff; it's great to see the way you've built up the characters... please keep posting... good things are coming soon! :-)

Cg

Thanks! When looking at them today it is clear to me how much I treated it as painting - with green underpainting and all.

And yes, let's hope good times a'comin! :)

Good stuff. Great job with the depth on the one with girl and rifle. I've spent a lot of time drawing with the mouse since i was young but as once the laser mice came it didn't have the same feel, but i got used to it. But yeah once you get a drawing tablet, it's a whole new world. I Just got a intuos pro 4- Have not even seen a Cintiq irl yet but i'd imagine that one would be a total bliss to work with.

Yes, I think that you maybe do get a kind of special rough feel when using the mouse... also a bad elbow. I really liked the murderous fantasy-drawing you did with almost no anti-aliasing. especially the black an white studies were great. I should write a comment on the post instead :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57142.47
ETH 2437.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39