Morning sketches - bodybuilderssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art5 years ago

So just as a warm up, and because I have been looking at the early Richard Corben comics lately, I decided to do a bit of male anatomy drawings, something I have been neglecting for a long time.

The male body has to be constructed, it is like drawing a machine, and I must admit that I am much more fascinated with the soft lines of the female body. But as I wrote I have been looking at Richard Corben, and now I suddenly wanted to make body-builders in extreme, superhuman poses. I gave myself 30 minutes, and I'm not too satisfied with the result. I will have to go a lot more of this!

nmen1_640.jpg

Sort:  

Always good to do studies. So, we'll be seeing some super buff lads doing things in your drawings to come I see.

I almost never draw/paint the male body? Not sure why, Probably because I'm so obsessed with fabric and old fashion and such, that the girls just get better clothes.

If I had more time I might set a goal to do one of my b/w with a male in. Maybe when I have more control of my entire day I'll do it.

I am not sure that I will make more body-builders, but I have been looking at Richard Corben's strangely deformed drawings of humans and wanted to give it a try - at least for 30 minutes.

Corben_Robot_mangler.jpg

It is very interesting that you never draw males, at least not human males. It is not a weird thing, on the contrary, it is rather normal to concentrate on one thing, but when I realise something like that I always have this urge to go start doing it another way than the one I am used too...

I have to do some dog images for example. i have been rather busy these last couple of weeks but maybe I will make a small dog series soon.

Just something I noticed in the bottom drawing: the area just below the clavicle is filled with muscle in strong men; you can't see the underside of the clavicle in any pose, and the deltoids don't bulge upwards like that; they are firmly on the side, unless you stretch your arms sideways, of course.

But you knew that from your mirror already 8-).

Yes, you are probably right. Something is definitely wrong with him.

To me the drawing still looks cute and nice, it just needs some little finishing . The male is really characterized with muscular parts @katharsisdrill

Personally ice been using line-of-action.com and posemaniacs.com for quick practice anatomy sketches. I really recommend both of them

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I didn't know any of them. Sometimes Bodybuilders look like no other creatures on earth, though .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60787.40
ETH 2994.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82