Keziah MasonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago (edited)


Another H.P. Lovecraft piece, while I have a real job doing Blender stuff. As ususal made with Krita

According to the short story the Dreams in the Witch House from 1932, Keziah Mason is a witch that escaped the Salem trials by using strange mathematics (Lovecraft had just attended a lecture about quantum-mechanics.)

In my drawing you see Keziah Mason signing her name with blood in the Book of Azathoth a spinning chaos God. Watching her is Nyarlathotep in the guise of a black man with his black sarcophagus behind him, and the hideous familiar of the witch - a rat with a human face called Brown Jenkins.

In the background is the dreamlands and Azathoth.

You can see the initial sketch here: A bit of sketching and a fabulous Korean eraser - I had a few other ideas that I might persue if I get the time: Keziah writing the strange mathematical angles on the prison wall, and from user @Nyarlathotep I had the strange and horrid image served of the witch and the black man begetting the rat familiar Brown Jenkins through a unholy coitus!


Keziah Mason signs her name in the Book of Azathoth

Sort:  

Straight out of a delirius feverish dream!
Azathoth, as the Centre of the Universe? check
Black Book, signed in blood? check
Pharaonic guise of Nyarlathotep? check (he is glorious!)
Dreamlands Stonehedge? check
Rat-thing, blasphemous offpring, with colonial hat? check
Phallic symbolism in glowing ectoplasm? check

Yes, that picture qualifies for the daily award of Visions of the Unspeakable!! Thanks for the mention :)

Oh, when it comes to awards that is the one that I like most.

Amazing piece (as always)! I totally will have to read the short-story. Sounds exactly like the stuff I like.

P.S.: Maybe you should consider uploading one version of your drawings with a height <= 600 px - That way it would be possible to view the piece without scrolling (at least on my monitor).

Yes, the width and height issues of Steemit is something I never really got my head around. I might make my images fit in a 600x600 box, but it would make the image rather small.

That's the reason why I started to post a smaller preview version and a higher-resolution version in my posts. (Sometimes I also link to a highres version). But it's not optimal either way. Loving your work even if it's to small/large, though.

Nice one!

I read everything by Lovecraft I could find, weird and great stuff.

BTW here are two photos of gargoyles, feel free to use them as examples if you need them in one of your drawings; they somehow seem to suit your style.

Thanks, Ocrdu - and some gorgeous gargoyles - I do appreciate the late middle age art a lot, and it does fit well with the horror theme.

Thx for sharing

Images that have meaning inside, are really good

True, but I also like the ones where the meaning is completely gone.

Awesome art ever seen in my life

Wonderful post @katharsisdrill ...Bless

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76