Helmet WomansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago (edited)

First day of the year! A slow day, but not without a drawing. Testing the spray brush of Krita and doing the strange seventies hatching in the hair. Rather kitschy really, but I am Katharsisdrill so I don't care. It seems pretty finished so I'll post it on my Diaspora profile as CC-by as soon as possible (I am tired and have to go to bed in a minute).


Helmet Woman

My old friend, the artist @skovclaude has joined Steemit so go vote for him and give him a welcome comment.

This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Attribute - Katharsisdrill - Link to: https://www.datataffel.dk/u/katharsisdrill

Sort:  

Sometimes your style reminds me of Moebius/Jean Giraud.. Which you're probably familiar with :)

Haha, yes I have learned a lot from him.

Actually I had to write a whole posts about it... The Moebius complex

Happy new year. You did fine by combining the Black Sun with tities!

In other news, I'd like to point you to a fine documentary to start 2019 with: "The Struggle" about Polish artist/sculptor Stanisław Szukalski, an obscure artist that could have achieved greatness with his amazing art, but remained unconventional both in his works and mindset. It is a Netflix production.

PS: contains a short appearance by Ernst Fuchs (tip of the hat to @thermoplastic & @carolineschell)

Black Sun is a Danish punk band, but it is also a sinister symbol invented for Heinrich Himmler... It is many thing besides that too of course, and I was always fascinated by the sound of this strange opposite image. here it was mainly to make the composition work :)

Thanks for the link. I have already seen some of his works, but will look forwards to the documentary. There was a lot of these non-modernist artists that really was interesting, but whose style became associated and tainted by nazism even though they weren't nazis. Often the exact opposite. Most of them were rediscovered by the psychedelic hippies in the seventies, but Stanisław Szukalski seems to have been reinvented much later. Of the other can be mentioned Vigeland, Tegner, Fidus etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82