Cyrben - cybergirl - a CMYK experimentsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago


I have been reading some old comics (and so can you), and that made me remember another of my ugly favourites: Richard Corben. I once heard that he worked directly in the 4 CMYK plates, so I was tempted to do the same.


(From AJS Labes with a short explanation of CMYK)

Unfortunatly Krita and all the fine open source paint- and image-applications have one problem - they do not support CMYK very well, so I simply made 3 layers in Krita and painted with the appropriate colour - black, yellow, Cyan or magenta.

Here is the result starting with the black layer:

Then the yellow: (as you can see I did fuck a bit up and use a too green or to red yellow in my hurry)

Then the magenta:

And last the cyan: (for the finished image)

As people who have tried to make real CMYK or CMY-prints know, the magic happens when you apply the last layer.


Sort:  

Simply amazing. Those making-of posts are of great value. Thanks for sharing it with us!

Glad you like it. It was actually quite rushed, as some of my thing sometimes get when I am impatient to see if a technical thing works... Krita sadly is not that fit for this exact job. In Photoshop you can work on the greyscale plates never having the problem with having to work in real colours.

I think that I will propose it as a feature request, but as I write. They are far from real CMYK support. It was still fun to make it :)

This is really cool. Love the neon highlights, it really brings it to life. I use a lot of layers in my drawings so it's fun seeing others show their progress shots. I'm following you.

Well, actually I normally would also use more layers, but this was kind of a challenge you might say. I have also tried with painting where you do not use the black (because you can make pitch black with the three primary colours - the only reason it is ther in printing is to save the more expensive colours especially the magenta, that is made from quinacridone).

The way Corben used it in his early pieces it has really been a light-table job so I would like to try to get closer to that feel, where all the colours are in grey-scale, but Krita does not really support that... unfortunately.

Thanks for your comment. Here is a Richard Corben artwork for you:

Darn, now I'm feeling inspired to experiment and try painting my images differently. I use Procreate for the iPad so I'm not sure how much different it is to Krita. Thank you for sharing, I enjoy seeing other artists challenge themselves and grow in the progress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61