Cernunnos - the Horned God

in #art6 years ago

A drawing I made today of the Celtic God, Cernunnos. Free, High resolution version can be found here: Cernunnos - The horned God


Cernunnos

The God is known from depictions, but the name is only found one place: on the Pillar of the Boatmen, from the Musée national du Moyen Âge in Paris. Lots of debate about the name among the scholars of course, but the attributes in the depictions are often similar. Crossed legs, antlers, a Celtic torc around the neck and in one hand, a snake with rams horns in the other. The most famous depiction is on an object I have seen very often, The Gundestrup cauldron, found in the North western part of Denmark.


Cernunnos on the The Gundestrup cauldron.

This work is licensed under a

Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

Good one! I have always liked torcs, they fascinate me. Don't know why.

I've seen a replica of that cauldron in a French museum, looked at it for a long time.

The way it is exhibited is a bit dark I think, but I look at it every time I am at the National Museum, which is quite often after my youngest daughter began asking me questions about the stone age.

Looks like my type o' deity. Great drawing.

Yes, I have a tendency to like the old polytheistic Gods more than the one and only.

it is nice for me to know the old culture @katharsisdrill, especially the rare one. thank you

Hey nice work checkout my work more to come thanks

oh god,,, what a creativity on drawing.
great to see.
upvote

wow
really this great art and drawing photography...

Beautiful drawing
thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52