šŸŽµ Do you know what a Hang Drum is? šŸŽµ

in #art ā€¢ 6 years ago (edited)


Today, I heard the most beautiful sounds played by a hang drum. I have never seen this instrument, and it was such a magical moment when I stumbled upon a young gentlemen who was playing his hang drum.

The hang drum was invented in early 2000, and this musical instrument is pretty rare to find. The hang drum originated from Switzerland, and is made out of steel. It kinds of looks like a UFO space ship. To play the hang drum, you must strike the instrument in a quick flicking motion with your fingers.

I was so mesmerized by this instrument. I've recorded a Dtube video of the young gentlemen who played us a song. It was such an honor to hear him play. Enjoy!

What fun instruments do you like to listen to?


IMG_1380.JPG
love,
Karen


ā–¶ļø DTube
ā–¶ļø IPFS
Sort: Ā 

That is pretty awesome I think I may have heard it once before, can't recall if it was a hang drum, a steel drum, or hand pan. They all make an amazing sound when played by someone with some experience.

Yes it is! I always say they sound like a mix of a harp and a steal drum and chimes! Love it.

I love the sound of handpans. One thing though you'll often see online about these is what the proper name of it is. The "Hang" was the original and basically the brand name of the original. Since then, other companies started making them but they go by "handpans." So, a Hang is the original that is no longer made and a lot more expensive to get your hands on. This is a "handpan" or "handpan drum" :)

ahhh I did learn that there were a couple ways to call these instruments. Thanks for sharing! :)

Hang actually means hand... i dont remember if that is a Swiss word though. Learnes this when i was studying this drum before buying one.

Hang drum sounds great if you can play it good. I like your captivating smile a lot and wish you more success. Feel free to check out my posts - I wish you a successful week.

hahah I tried to play it... not that good. My sounds were pretty muffled!


I think you are so talented artist))
I have somehow for you)))

Good comment

It is a little difficult at first but you would get a hand on it pretty quickly!

Music is actually is in my blood it is mood fresher for me and by following you I think so I am so glad.

AWWW music really is amazing! :)

wow!amazing art..i like music..dtube is my best channel..thanks for sharing this post..best of luck

That is flipping brilliant, i've never seen one before, i think i might need one!

hahah that's how I felt after seeing it! :)

wow that things amazing

I love playing my violin or mandolin with this instrument!! Both are great combos.

Oh wow, this is SO beautiful! Thank you for sharing!!! It seems like it would be incredibly difficult to get the sounds right and yet he's doing it with what seems like complete ease! Wow.

I know. It was such a magical moment, I'm glad I could capture it on dtube for you all! :)

WOW i love it!!! This is one of the most beautiful sounds ever :) And the way you play - magic:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67