Pretend artists shouldn't get our vote$.

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians! If someone is claiming to have created original art... drawings, paintings and photographs and your gut says something's amiss, simply use the free reverse image search at http://www.tineye.com.

Go to the image in question, and upload or right click to copy and paste the photo address into the search bar. And, instantly, you'll see results.

FOR EXAMPLE...

My Original Art - Alpaca in Field with Fence... Sorry, not for sale :)

karen alpaca original.JPG

No Findings or Limited Findings with Original Poster's URL

tineye karen.JPG

I encourage you to test it out on other images. It's amazing how technology works! Sometimes you'll see that an image has been used 10 times or 150 times because it's in the public domain.

EXAMPLE...

reverse image search.JPG

Help Steemit Photo Sheriff @brendanwenzel! We may need you!
https://steemit.com/photography/@brendanwenzel/photo-thieves-beware-you-re-looking-at-the-new-photo-sheriff-on-steemit

Please Resteem to stamp out posers.... and as always, happy Steemin'!

Sort:  

Solid advice @karencarrens. I think it's hard to call people out, but if you respect the integrity of Steemit, just do it.

I'm actually not comfortable calling him out as he continues this spree. All I can do is educate others that there are tools that we can use to determine if we should give away our valuable upvotes and resteems.

Before calling someone out in person you can always report to Steemcleaners and other channels labeled "abuse" on Steemit.chat.

Once you think you actually want to confront/downvote the users posts, please consider what that users downvotes might do to your account. If you're using Busy.org or beta.chainbb.com to connect to Steem, then maybe it's no big deal. But if you use Steemit, then you need to take into account that this other users downvotes could collapse (ie minimize or "hide") your posts. Your reputation score could also take a hit.

How votes affect you depends on the other users reputation score and Steem Power in comparison to yours.

Many Steemit users also have several and sometimes conflicting unwritten rules that they try to adhere to and hold others accountable to when it comes to downvoting. For a quick insight into how Steemit user might think about the matter, you can click the "flag" icon once on a post or comment and see the Steemit guidelines for such "flagging".

Someones steem power effects how their downvote counts against you, is that really true? I thought if your reputation is higher then lower rep users cant hurt you, is there a place to find the info on that?

A higher rep person won't has their rep hurt much (to almost not at all) by someone with lower rep. However the amount of Steem Power held by the flagger does still effect payout. They're essentially separate mechanics. Reputation isn't something actually on the blockchain, only on Steemit.com. The rep we see here isn't available to other sites like busy.org or chainbb.

I do have a post that get's into this with some more depth (even a bit of over the top mathy parts, lol).

https://steemit.com/steem-help/@sykochica/answering-common-questions-reputation-and-flags-what-s-this-number-by-my-name

Thanks Ill take a look later

The rep we see here isn't available to other sites like busy.org or chainbb.

To be precise, the rep shows, but so do downvoted posts and comments.

I gotta be honest with you here, the reason I wrote that the way I did was that I still don't know the details too well. For mer personally, they're very easy to forget over time.

I think only high rep users can hurt a lower rep users rep, but I'm not sure how exactly SP plays into the rep or hiding posts. I'll ping @sykochica here and in the Guides channel on Steemit.chat, because I'm not sure if there's a post explaining this.

Cool I actually asked over here https://steemit.com/steemit/@scalextrix/does-steem-power-over-ride-reputation-score but no-one who knows was reached with the post

Yes, I upvoted that post but didn't resteem it yet... done! If you find straight answers to all scenarios, let us know in the channel maybe.

Hello Karen,
Your post caught my eye because I like your drawing, because llamas are lovely, because you have provided me with access to a new tool, and because I don't like it when people don't credit others' work - or just steal it. I think CC is good, but still should let people know the source if it's available.

Nice to meet you!

I'm obsessed with having an alpaca farm someday so I draw them a lot. 😁

I couldn't sleep because I saw someone repeatedly taking credit for other people's efforts. I have lots of artist friends and know how hard they work. And the worst was all the well meaning, encouraging Steemians wasting votes and not realizing it.

Totally agree w sourcing. And, @joanroberts, thanks for the encouraging words! So nice to meet you too!

Btw... what is cc?

Yeah, I haven't been very active on steemit, but one of the first things I almost fell for was upvoting someone copy pasting a youtube vid of another steemian. One downside of the tool you shared, which I do appreciate, is that it only catches the really lazy thieves. The ones that don't even bother to reupload the image. Also it might also cause false positives, as in someone posting his/her image on multiple sites.

Maybe someone knows a tool that checks image contents to uncover exploiters like this. Although it might persuade more artists to come to steem if they notice their work getting money here.

@joeyd, I think I know what you mean. And it may work for even unlazy ones. I think it does find fresh images despite new address because the search is based of the image itself. It also points out date, time, and URLs of found work. Lots of good info.

The reason why I bothered checking was when someone repeatedly took credit for several pieces of art with such different styles, I got wary. The funny thing is, I really don't even have the heart or desire to police this issue, thus my post with a tool to help all of us as a collective address it.

Happy steemin!

@karencarrens I checked their FAQ and it seems I was wrong and you are right. They seem to be using image recognition to check images. I got the wrong impression when I read the last part in the last screenshot of your post, where I thought it said that they did not look at the contents of the image.

Oh and I also forgot to praise you for your rendition of the white picket fence 😜.

Thank you for verifying and for praising my artwork. lol. Please resteem my post if you think it will help others. My inspiration for the post is still actively at it, so educating others is going to be the key.

No problem and this is now my first resteem ever. It has absolutely nothing to do with the fact that I could not find the itty-bitty little icon for it that I've never done this before, nope, nothing at all.

Anyways you are now the proud receiver of a JoeyD stamp of approval. Just put it up with the other stamps, I recommend the toilet where it will receive the most attention of its occupants. It's the ancient traditional place for the Dutch to force feed people your opinions and POV and you are certain that they can't escape.

OMG! I'm am CRACKING up. I'll show you where I decide to put my @JoeyD stamp of approval! I'm honored! And, oh yes! thanks for resteeming it! I know it will help others!

As you should be 😊, although the way you worded it leaves me a bit worried.

I warn you though, I might just make real "Dutch Wisdom Tiles" (google it and be amazed) type JoeyD stamps of approval and send them to toilets all over the world.

Oh damn, now I'm seriously considering doing this as well, I'm even looking up ways to pull it of. Oh god, now I'm even coming up with solutions that might actually work. Oh crap, now you've done it, I just figured out a couple of ways I could pull it off depending on the price.

Congratulations @karencarrens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for pointing out a clear and easy path to research this.

I am kind of a stickler about this because I was a teacher in another life and casually taking someone else's work without attribution annoys me.

Of course! We do have the ability to go into Steem Chat and post links of violators in Steemcleaners. I'll update my blog. How have you been? So good to hear from you.

I haven't checked out the chat capabilities around here, yet.

Been busy preparing to come back to the States actually. Thanks for asking!

Will keep taking a peek at what your posting from time to time.

Best wishes!!!

Chat is where I find people to connect with because we can converse and I can ask all my questions that I don't necessarily want to post. There are different rooms. Save travels back to States!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95