You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Want to make art your career? 🎨 Why style is SUPER important!

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Very useful info! So, i realize why i cannot sell my mandalas. No integrated style and no signature. Style of my paintings is not a big problem, but signature...I tried many times to write a good signature but i failed every time. In addition, i spoiled my paintings with ugly signature. What can i do? How can i make a good logo or signature? Other problem is the title, too difficult for me to give a title, or, if i give a title, i change it later.

Sort:  

When I say a signature style, I don't mean the style of your actual signature. A signature style means a style that is so obviously consistent that a viewer doesn't even need to see a signature to know who the painter is. I sign mine on the back so the only way you'll see my actual signature is if you take a painting off the wall. Maybe you could do the same thing,sign them on the back?

For your actual signature, a signature doesn't have to be fancy, but it does have to be easily legible. You don't want people to struggle to read it. For a logo, that's another story. It's not REALLY 100% necessary. For me I knew I wanted to have products with my designs so, a logo helps with branding those. For a logo, if you don't already have some ideas, you might want to go on Fiver (or even on Steemit maybe there's someone?) and have some graphic designers who make logos all day show you some samples as ideas to give you inspiration. A logo should be pretty simple, and convey some idea about your brand/image.

For your question about titles, I wrote a post about that a while ago - here's the link to it! :) https://steemit.com/art/@adammillwardart/do-you-give-your-art-a-title-art-selling-tip

Thank you! I'll try it!

Make your signature a letter or piled on letters like those old Japanese wood block prints. Look at your art and name it the first thing that comes to mind or don’t name it. Not all artworks are titled. Also, if you use geometric shapes name your art based on the geometric shapes you see. I don’t know, just an idea. Anyhow, good post.

Thank you! I'll use ancient runic writing i think!

That's not necessarily the best idea, you want people to remember your name. Your signature should be your name. Your logo can be runic writing.

Here's why work should be signed and titled - imagine 2 identical artworks next to each other at a gallery. One has a title, and a signature. The other, has neither. Which piece is worth more? The one with the title and signature, it can give the viewer/collector more information. It's a lot easier to search up an artist if you know their name right? It might be tempting to think the one without the information is more mysterious or something - but, it's not. In the art business, it's like buying stock in a mystery company - it just doesn't really happen. UNLESS - you've spent years working in a signature style.

But even then - unsigned work can only be sold at auction or by a serious gallery as "attributed to ______" unless there's other undeniable proof (called "provenance") like a picture of the artist in his/her studio creating it - which means it's a more risky investment. Basic lesson is long term - you want to make your art attractive to art collectors, who are almost always really secretly art investors. Art investors love supporting artists, they get a good feeling from it that they can never get from buying a stock or a bar of gold. They are real art lovers too, just, discerning ones.

Great idea! When I said The way Japanese signed their wood block prints, I didn’t mean to use Japanese letters I meant the style.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57726.29
ETH 2446.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39