My felt mandala with closer detailssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Felt is the oldest known textile in history, generally made of wool. As a traditional craft, nomadic people in Inner Asia still practise felt making. They make wonderful rugs, bags, hats with traditional abstract and natural ornaments. Recently the isolation covers of yurts were also made from handmade felt, but today they changed it to synthetic machine-products.
More than 10 years ago I met felt making by a master of this craft. First time I made only small pieces, like purses or mobile phone holders, then I turned to bigger ones. Felt making has been paused since 2012, because of moth attack. Many of my pieces (fortunately smaller ones) were damaged by moth in the wardrobe.

This is a modern style felt mandala, decorated with viscose stripes. I spent many hours to make it very painstakingly, stiching the stripes with a tiny needle.
It has been sold some years ago.

Áldás!♥♥♥Blessings!♥♥♥Namaste!♥♥♥Aloha!

Sort:  

@berniesanders will crash the price of Steem

Wow, very nicely done!

Gorgeous work. The detail is pretty amazing. I never thought about the process of making felt. That's pretty fascinating. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44