Hey Steemians, preview my new book about creative productivity: "Getting Art Done"

in #art7 years ago

I think all of us have something to offer the world, creatively speaking. Isn't that belief kind of at the crux of the STEEM movement?

But, there are a million reasons not to do your art. You spend time on Steemit or Facebook, or there's another bingeable series on Netflix.

If we look deep down, most of us will see that we're really afraid. We're afraid of failure, and judgement, and making bad work. We're crippled by perfectionism, or self-doubt. I think Stephen Pressfield nailed it in The War of Art when he identified "The Resistance."

But so far, there hasn't been much to help us fight The Resistance. Yes, there are quotes from people like Stephen King saying “Amateurs sit and wait for inspiration, the rest of us just get up and go to work.” And Pressfield followed up The War of Art, simply telling us to Do The Work.

It doesn't hurt to suck it up and just get to work, but that's easier said than done.

  • How do you identify an idea that you can follow through on?
  • How do you break through the pain of getting started?
  • How do you follow through on the art that you've started?
  • How can you make creative insights happen on command?
  • How can you build a body of work you can be proud of?

I've been fascinated with these questions and more, ever since I wrote my first book, Design for Hackers. I was spending 12 hours a day banging my head against the wall, only to get 15 minutes of "flow." I'd produce a whole day's work in short bursts like these.

Since then, I've been studying psychology, neuroscience, and productivity. I've been interviewing experts on my podcast. I've been tweaking my own techniques for maximizing creative output, and coaching others on making their creative projects real.

I ended up helping behavioral scientist Dan Ariely add productivity features to Google Calendar, and I even quadrupled my own creative productivity last year.

I'll be sharing what I learned with my new book, Getting Art Done. It's like Getting Things Done meets The War of Art.

getting-art-done-plain-centaur-300.png

If you sign up over at gettingartdone.com before the timer on the site runs out, I'll send you a chapter every day for 30 days.

I'm looking forward to sharing it with you, and I hope it helps Steemians create amazing things.

Sort:  

This came at the right time as I'm beginning to draft a little book called "WTF Am I Doing?".

Can't wait to check out the chapters. Thank you :)

very interesting subject! thx

Thank you for this opportunity to follow my dream.
😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50