Are you building a warehouse, or are you building a skyscraper?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago

Paul_Cézanne_155-1.jpg

Sometimes, it takes a long time just to reach the point where you can make any progress at all.

Cézanne spent his entire life experimenting with the problem of painting what he saw. Not just photorealism, but what he really saw. He wrote to a friend:

Will I ever attain the end for which I have striven so much and so long? I hope so, but as long as it is not attained a vague state of uneasiness persists….So I continue to study.

A month later, Paul Cézanne died.

But his work inspired a new generation of painters. Pablo Picasso and Georges Braque built upon what Cézanne had accomplished, and started the movement of Cubism.

Picasso said, “[Cézanne] was my one and only master.”


Picasso didn’t experiment in the sense that Cézanne did. He would pick a concept, and go with it. Cézanne said “I seek in painting.” Picasso said “I don’t seek, I find.”

This, according to David Galenson’s Old Masters and Young Geniuses, is why Picasso’s most prolific year was when he was 26. The number of works of significance he did after that age dropped sharply.

Though he lived to be 91, the older Picasso got, the smaller the chance he’d do a painting that was cited in art history books, or included in museum collections. The lower the price that painting sold for at auctions.

By contrast, the older Cézanne was when he did a painting, the more valuable and significant it was. He peaked at 67.


Galenson sees this pattern over and over again. He says that the approach a painter takes determines when in his or her life that painter will peak.

Degas, Kandinsky, and O’Keeffe all peaked in their 40’s. Picasso, Gris, and de Chirico all peaked in their 20’s.

This, Galenson says, is all according to approach: If you dedicate your life to experimenting to try to discover something, it takes you a long time to reach your peak. If you instead try to execute a bold concept, you may fly high sooner, but you’ll burn out faster.


Is this really true? I certainly want it to be, since at 38, I have yet to have all that I pursue really “gel.” Galenson himself is 66, and in a field—economics—with plenty of younger rockstars.

I like to think of it like building a skyscraper, versus building a warehouse. A warehouse, you can complete it quickly. You stack the bricks and build the walls and before you know it, you’re done.

A skyscraper is different. You have to dig into the earth, and pour the foundation, and engineer a structure. That takes a long time. But once you’re done with that, you can build much higher.


Something to think about as you go about your daily work: Are you building a warehouse, or are you building a skyscraper?


David Kadavy Steemit

My new book is The Heart to Start. I believe you have something to offer the world, and this book will help you make it real. Buy it on Amazon, because the world needs your art »

Sort:  

Hey @kadavy

The Picasso example really making it easier to understand the concept. You are good storyteller, that's an art writers must have.

Whenever I feel overwhelm and demotivated, I motivate myself by saying I am launching a rocket and it's gonna take some time but once it launched it will fly itself. I have to push it to through gravity zone which pulls us down.

I am not good storyteller, I hope the ideas is clear to you @kadavy.

Hey, thanks! Yes, that makes perfect sense. You have to break the gravitational pull of everything else going on in your life and whatever doubts you might have.

I actually made a very similar comparison in my book, The Heart to Start:

The same way a rocket needs to escape the gravitational pull of Earth to get into space, your art needs to escape the pull of ego to get into the world.

I think the difficult thing about building a skyscraper is that you need to swallow your pride. I'm the type of person who wants to be successful early, who's always waiting for that creative idea or concept or whatever, the thing that will be IT, that will change everything. But maybe, I just need to stop looking for warehouses.

And the difficult thing is that if something you do becomes extremely successful in like 20 years, people are not going to correlate it to what you're doing now. If they don't understand the choices you make now, they still might not. They just see the skyscraper. All of it might never be completely justified in the eyes of others.
(and that's okay)

incredible is that your painting?

I'm not sure how you could have read the article and concluded that.

Hy! I am a bot and I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for great post! I follow you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63166.66
ETH 2575.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77