Art-explosion: A glassy tower

in #art7 years ago (edited)


With no destination or goal in mind

I start out with the center of the page. In this case, a simple course of seven triangles embedded in circles climbing up from the bottom of the page.

Detail:


20170616-IMG_2173 copy.jpg


Glass Tower


KabbamGlasstower.jpg


Glass Tower Color Reduction


20170616-IMG_2173-2.jpg


Glass Tower B&W


20170616-IMG_2174.jpg


Drawn with a 0.1mm mechanical pencil, compass, ruler, and colored with Faber Castell polychromos. I also used a Lyra colorless polishing pencil to add a reflective layer of wax before laying down any color. The paper takes less pigment this way and the result is a shiny glass appearance.

Thanks to @juliakponsford for the oomph to do this post this morning, and @kalemandra for her lovely submission (which is how I learned about the contest!).

-Kabba

Sort:  

Hey Kabbam. Im starting new FB group for designers and architects on Steemit to post their articles and support each other.
https://www.facebook.com/groups/SteemitDesigners/

@andrejcibik thanks for the invite! I requested to join, but wasn't able to post my name in the following text box.

Why not?
I followed you, and resteemed this cool article :) Have a good time in our Design group.

Great!

Well, I entered my name, but the 'send' button never activated. I wasn't sure what I was missing. Anyway, thanks for the resteem!!

@kakam very pleased to stumble across your work this morning.. Will enjoy looking through the rest of your posts and following how your work progresses.. This works has a Art Deco meets Sci-Fi feel about it and could wonderfully transfer over into a three dimensional form. I wonder have you ever tried that?

Yes, @theorderofthings! Though I'm not sure how at this stage, so I just keep drawing. @juliakponsford commented that the B&W image looks like it was cast in silver... love the idea. Thank you for following. Your content is very nice. It seems we speak the same language ;) ~ Followed!

How beautiful! Thank you for the entry! The black and white one looks like a sculpture cast in silver 0_0

Oh you're giving me ideas... Thank you! Glad to connect :)

Seems like your post made it to Hot @kabbam. Congratz! I will meet you there some day :D

Amazing outcome of what u had drawn. I really do wanted to be an architect I love to draw and design,.But I don't know why Everytime I try to draw the result is abstract, I guess building design is not my line, hahaha.

Except I didnt :) I respoted this post. Look at original author and reward him.

Tnx for sharing though :)

Not mine either :) Just the lines & circles... and a whole lot of sitting and staring. Thanks for the uplifting quotes! (followed)

Then still you got lots to do in it, it's not easy to sit and stated it hurts in the eyes hahaha. Tnx for the reply.

Yes, I'm thrilled and so grateful! Thank you for resteeming and supporting me. I'm trying to stay focused on paying it forward and continuing to upload decent content :)

Inspiring work. Love all aspects you have shown here. Especially the detail at the beginning. Upvoted and resteemed. Following you to stay in touch with your work from now on.

Dito, and thanks for the esteem! (lovely work, btw)

Oh, thanks so much @kabbam. I love working with geometry and symbols too and so it feels lovely to be connected now. 🐋🌀🐋

Beautiful! All the colours are gorgeous and I had to stare at the pictures for a bit because i could figure out if it was a drawing or a picture!

Thank you for commenting and resteeming! Looking forward to seeing your posts~

Cool :) I like this B&W :)

Adding color is the most difficult part... (in this case it was already colored, then desaturated... or converted to greyscale. Not sure what the difference is actually)

*I see B&W is your specialty ;) -followed

Yes I like B&W very :) I try every day :)

Great work :)
Image of dksartRegularSteemit

Much appreciated DKSArt, good luck to you!

it so awesome @kabbam !

Thanks for the comment, rkb!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41