Phone art: "Make time for what you love"!

in #art7 years ago

pencil_sketch_1520772943614.jpg

So I haven't drawn in a while because life gets in the way. With the digital age, we spend more time in front of a screen than with the people and the things we love. I used to spend time drawing with my dad, who I regard as a master artist. How I miss that. I am sure we all know someone who is silent, but wise. He was like that. I honestly remember almost no physical words that he spoke, but his example, and the way that he carried himself taught me more than any audible sound I have heard.

This is just a silly picture, but I just thought I'd share it with you. Yesterday I downloaded a drawing app and I ended up spending a good 20 minutes using my finger to draw this picture. It was amazing that I felt as if I was drawing on paper. Technology is really improving with regards to touch screens etc. I remember, not too long ago when this technology was super bad. I could hardly write my name on the first touch screen I got. One flaw with the app, though, is that it can't handle too many separate lines on the screen, as it started dragging and lines weren't able to be curved after a while, so I did what I could.

May we make time out for the things and the people we love. I am speaking to myself here. I recently heard a quote by Thomas S. Monson (I am not sure if he was the original author):

"Never let a problem to be solved become greater than a person to be loved"

The problem to be solved could refer to working to earn a living, it can be our hobbies, or it can be real problems. Before we know it, the person to be loved or the thing we love will be out of our grasp.

Sort:  

Goods quotes come to haunt you later in life, nice way to remember your dad and take up the challenge of art again @jvanman

Lovely post. The first part is a gem.

It's an amazing art which he had made by using technology. I am totally agree with him he said ""With the digital age, we spend more time in front of a screen than with the people and the things we love""

What a lovely post - ostensibly about an art app, but really about making time for those we love. Thanks for sharing this quiet wisdom, @jvanman 😊😊

P.S. I quite like the drawing.

Haha. It's just a silly drawin. Would love to try one on a tablet. I relate better to to learning experiences that are not blatant. His teaching was perfect for my learning style haha. Have a good one

Very happy if we have good parents @kiligirl, it is very difficult to forget.

Thank you for the quote. :) I think this is especially important in this day and age where everyone is so busy.

I sometimes have 8 hours of screen time a day. It's ridiculous hey. Thanks for the comment

I love that this post is something so simple and thats theres sentiment to it, It makes me want to do better .

Also

Your post has been selected to be entered into @teamsouthafrica's Daily Nominated Post section in Teamsouthafrica's Discord group. Congratulations!

#teamsouthafrica

Wow thank you for the nice comment and for the nomination. Much appreciated. It makes it worth while posting when it motivates someone. I really didn't expect so much positivity from this post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66