The Celestial Compass Mandala

in #art6 years ago

0213181801.jpg

I left a good deal of white space in the finished piece of this project...I wanted to give it a layered aesthetic appearance...so that it looks stacked so to speak...

0211181523.jpg

This is what I started with...the raw image ripped right from the pages it used to call home...I decided at this point to focus on using 6 colors...separated into 3 two-tone patterns...which you can see throughout the finished piece...

0211181631.jpg

I wanted to capture an image of the celestial bodies when they were finished...sometimes the centerpiece can get lost if the image comes out muddy...which this very well could have...it's very easy to run amok with ink and fill in every white space within the borders...and I do that on occasion...but there's a time and place for that kind of artwork...and this wasn't one of those times, or places...

0213181022.jpg

As I started filling in the surrounding, under laying borders it started to really take shape and the white space gave it more definition...eventually resulting in the finished image that greeted you when you visited this post...

As always, if you enjoyed the read, give us an upvote/resteem so that others can enjoy as well...until next time... :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66269.58
ETH 3204.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.24