My Digital Caricature of Steve Buschemi. Step by Step

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Any caricaturist would regard Steve Buschemi as a gift. I find his features totally unique and a joy to draw. He has been depicted in a myriad of ways. I was inspired by all the submission of many talented artists and enjoyed drawing him again...I hope you all enjoy the process as well!


Step one - "Gesture sketch"

A "gesture" sketch helps capture on paper, or, in this case, a graphic tablet, an image resident in your mind. 


Step Two - Emphasize Features

Work out how I will shape this face. Obviously the teeth will make the likeness, so I will concentrate on them.


Step Three - Complete the Likeness

This is the sketch where the likeness needs to be correct. Once this likeness is established, the rest is easy.


Step Four - "Values"

As mentioned in previous caricatures, I capture the "values" in monochrome. Once done......


Step Five - colorize and "Blocking In"

.... I "colorize" the picture using "hue/saturation" in PhotoShop, then block in the skin color shades. I cut out the image and change the background to a color I feel would work here.


Step Six - Skin Shades and Finish Off

The final image with all the shades of the skin added with a bit of exaggeration added to emphasize the droopy eyes and those unique teeth.


I hope you enjoy this caricature. I will keep them coming as soon as I can think of another "victim"

Sort:  

Now this is talent. Can't wait to see who your next "victim" will be. 😂

Thanks @recan. I will think of a new one.

Thank you ironwood. Like your knives by the way

ha! that's great. You do this 'gift' of a man well! Love your breakdown of process. followed and upvoted! Excited to see more from you.

Thanks @secora....considering who will be next...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52