Another Caricature - Making Whoopi

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I had a need to do another caricature and share it with fellow Steemians. The choice of who to draw was easy. The technique I used here is somewhat different though. 


Step 1 - The Gesture Sketch

I randomly scribble and doodle how I would like the image to progress. I have to make the teeth big. Her nose is unique so I sketch that in. The eyes need to slant in towards the nose. Once this is done, I get ready to.....


Step 2 - Refine the Sketch

Adding more features that make Whoopi recognizable. I add shading lines to mimic the expression in her forehead and cheeks. I investigate how I will include her glasses. What must her hands do? The reference image seems to indicate that she is twirling a dreadlock. I also want the eyes to look at the viewer. and need to indicate the shape of the eyelid if the eyes have moved.


Step 3 - Complete the Sketch

I tighten the image, concentrating on the likeness and then complete the shading. 


Step 4 - Values

I drop a 50% grey into the background. Then I work on the different values into the shading and highlights.


Step 5 - Colorize!

Photoshop has a nice feature called "colorize" This is found under Image - Adjustments - Hue/Saturation. At the bottom right is a checkbox called "colorize". Once checked. I adjusted the sliders until I have a midtone color of her skin. Once done, I simply have to add the various skin shades.


Step 6 - Finish the Caricature

Add the variations in the skin color and have fun with the details. I hope fellow Steemians enjoy this, especially the artists! Look forward to your comments and votes!!

Sort:  

Great work, love it. thanks for sharing. following..

Really great work here! How long did it take you to learn digital art and are you self taught?

Hi @recan. Learning digital art is easy, especially since I have the "Rolls Royce" of graphic tablets...The Wacom Cintiq is a standard in the industry and is a pleasure to use. I am self taught, yes...been doing this for 40 years now.

@coquiunlimited, I believe, has one of the original Wacom tablets. That thing is HUGE! So you know manual graphic arts? Digital art wasn't around 40 years.

Yes, sorry for the misunderstanding there! I have been drawing manually for that time. Digital was a natural transition because of the ease of emailing art. Its especially great for vector work such as "inking " in comic art, (look out for and inking drawing coming next.) logo design and medical art.

Congratulations @juniorshelver! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you @crypto-ghost77. Appreciate the comment

This is an amazing work, I'm an artist myself as well but caricature is the niche i have yet to conquer. Definitely followed! Love your works

Hi @artbaseline. Give caricature a go. It's a lot of fun and you can let your hair down and explore your creativity

A very interesting post and could be interested in my heart when I saw it greetings from. @abupasi.alachy

I reay liked the carciature u made.
It looks kinda funny but is excellent indeed. You have talent.

I'm also very deep into art... Recently i've posted my first blogpost on my drawing... If you have time, please do check it out at
https://steemit.com/drawing/@aman.shady/a-personality-sketch-1
Give feedback if you like it...

Good pencil work @aman.shady. Keep on drawing

Excelente trabajo! muy bueno! te invito a que pases por mi perfil y veas mis dibujos! aunque yo trabajo mas a lápiz y papel, tu obra digital ha sido impecable! Saludos desde Venezuela!

Congratulations @juniorshelver! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56589.13
ETH 3005.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16