🎨 Sparrow Keeper / watercolor step by step

in #art5 years ago (edited)



This lady kept me busy for several weeks.
I was working some other things in between, but she was present all the time.
It took lot of preparing for it, finding details and looking for composition.
I had idea in mind but this time I thought of bringing it to another level.
To stay in my way but make something more complex this time.



5.jpg



As those who are following my work here know, I have love for patterns, especially those coming from far East.
Something about those details make me calm and peaceful when painting them, sort of meditating.

You can see below that as usual first was pencil sketch, and for this kind of work it's essential.
Adding so many details needs to be put in correct way so pencil is best tool for something like that.



1.jpg



Sparrows are small fellows I observe every day at near tree I have next to office. They have their morning chit-chats and flying around I just adore to observe.
For some time I was thinking of bringing them into my art, so you can say they were triggers for this one.



2.jpg



Watching and searching for patterns on clothes I came to some images of Japanese kimonos with bamboo trees with sparrows.
That was final detail to finish story about this Sparrow Keeper.



3.jpg



Here are close ups of finished work.
Watercolors are mix of several I use, White Nights, Van Gogh and Schminke brands. From each of them I have some favorite colors so I mix them. Paper is Hahnemuhle Bamboo for mixed media.



5.jpg



Working on hands took some time, trying to make them as delicate as I could.



4.jpg



And here she is finished and already going to new home :)
Lucky for me it's going to one customer who already have my watercolors, so I am happy she is going to be loved in her new home.



7.jpg



Thank you for watching, leaving comments and upvotes guys, off to something new, this time thinking about sea and whales..

1a.jpg

Sort:  

Wonderful!!!!

So fun with the bird's nest hair!

Thanks to @anouk.nox, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you :) And yes, that hair as a nest gave her fantasy touch, love to dream on paper @thedailysneak :)

I wrote to you on Facebook also, so whichever reaches you first:
Dear Dunja - I am presently about to write a critique of your work "Sparrow Keeper" on Artisteem - it will be crossposted on Steemit. But I need your permission to do so, considering copyright etc. While it would fall under "Fair Use", I nevertheless want your OK

My OK is big as house :))))

WOW ...Thats great fine detailed Waterpainting - like your style
resteemed

Hi jungwatercolor,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much!!!

This is a lovely piece - very elegant. You are a master of watercolors.

upvoted, resteemed and shared: https://twitter.com/visionaryartcom/status/1059372925944582144

Wow, thank you @thermoplastic :) Going crazy lately in positive manner about patterns, Japan and fantasy. More is coming soon.
And I still have to learn and work to be a master, but thank you, it's nice to hear :))

I left a message on Facebook about this, just now. I like to write a critique of it that would also be crossposted on Steemit.

This is simply breathtaking, plus I love sparrows,I feed wild ones everyday in my terrace

O lucky you, they are such a cute creatures @yidneth :)
I also love owls, dreaming of living in some nature and have one in yard to call it a friend.

Great, you nailed it.

The hair is extravagantly beautiful but you know? What I find very tender and key in your work is the bamboo and its clothing, these two things in my opinion conceive the poetry of your art.

Cool, congratulations to you.

What a lovely and beautiful sparrow keeper she is :).
                       
Her expression and the blue green colour and her orange hair look dreamy and ethereal.              
                         
Congratulations for your curie vote, Dunja ^_^.

Thank you @scrawly, and @curie :)) well, surprise, happy one.

Odličnoooo!!!!Bravo!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86