You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Art and Creativity: The Saga of the Tormented Artist-- Is Suffering Required for Creativity?

in #art7 years ago

@reddragonfly, again you wrote great post. while i was reading it I was thinking how you should write for some magazine about art. It fascinates me that exact moment you find to write about, you know artists so well and you know how to write about it. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and speaking for some of us who are not so good in word expressing.
And for the topic, when I was young I believed that only when I'm deeply down and crazy I make good art. Growing older, and learning about myself I came to the moment like those two guys blowing the glass...Let's make some joy of art, because... beauty will save the world..

Sort:  

Thanks for your kind words and encouragement @jungwatercolor-- I appreciate your support.

I believe it's important we talk about the nature, psychology and business of art, and that's why I write. Whereas I have considered writing for magazines (and have done so in the past) I work under the same limitations as most others in the art field: a lack of money. And most magazines in the art field have the same essential policy: "We would love to publish your excellent article, but we do not PAY for submissions at this time. However, this will look great on your CV!"

Fact is, I can't pay for groceries at the supermarket with my CV, I need to be paid. Hence, I am now working to-- in a sense-- create my OWN "magazine" through writing articles on Steemit, where at least there is a small chance I might make a few dollars for my efforts. And it doesn't "cost" anybody anything... your upvote had no direct expense to you, for example.

But to return to the main point-- I think there is a lot of joy and happiness in art... I don't do creative things to "purge my pain," but because I really enjoy what I am doing.

Thanks for your reply!

Well, reading you replay I see matter with art is everywhere almost the same. But still, consider me someone who is so happy every time I read your new post, I am your faithfull reader :) Just keep up the good work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48