🎨 Monk/watercolor portraitsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #art7 years ago


Realistic approach to portrait subject is not strange to me, but palette used on this one is.
Came across photography of a Ortodox monk long time ago, while I was still learning watercolor painting. And after some time I decided to try out my skills on this piece.

popakvarel1.jpg



Unfortunately at that time I was not still taking photos of process of work so all I have is photo of finished work.
And, like said previously, not my color palette but still satisfied with outcome of this portrait.
It took a long time to finish it since it was done in lot of transparent layers of color, meaning between them was time of waiting to color become dry.
Sometimes it's good to step out from your regular palette and do something different, just to keep your brain, hand and eye in shape.


popakvarel.jpg



Thank you for reading and watching..
Feel free to comment, write, make your opinion, dance, sing or what ever you feel like to do :)

steemsign.jpg

Sort:  

Very subtle work in there, soft buildup of values...

Transparent layers of color? Interesting.. How does that work?

@sasda, with applying thin layers of watercolor, one over other..

This is so nice! I know you said that this isn't your usual color palette but I think that it works well with the expression on your subject's face. I do agree with you about trying something different every now and then! I am also an artist and you can check out my stuff on my page https://steemit.com/@mrblinddraw

Сјајно @jungwatercolor, можеш бити изузетно задовољна резултатом.

hvala @lighteye, jesam jos uvek, premda je ovaj portret naslikan za moje pojmove davno :)

Nice... Hope. You like my art

I love the glow that comes from this process! Beautiful!

Me like like :)

:))) fala bubiii

Very atmospheric and interesting piece! I like the color palette and the way it vanishes as it goes down the page.

thank you @iansart, yes myself also consider that part well made..

ah .. fascinating! I wish you could tell by video while doing a watercolor work!
it would be great. you really have a lot to learn from you!
congratulations. the color choices are excellent.

thank you @artizm, my boyfriend was talking about that yesterday. He will help me with making video while i paint..Only it's always hard for me to be relaxed in work when someone is watching :)

A Master Piece ! Outstanding... We have the chance once in a while to admire such a unique work ! Congratulations and thank you for sharing !

Thank you so much @tiloupsa for your kind words. I am blushing :))) Thank you for leaving comment and I'm truly happy you find to enjoy in this work of mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65