Birth - how drawing became watercolor

in #art7 years ago


While drawing this boy, I was trying to achieve moment of birth, birth of person, nature, moment of realizing things..and first made this smaller drawing with pencil 25x30cm.
There are fishes around him, and genuine idea was birth from water, but more I worked and thought about it I decided to change fishes to leaves..Somehow at that point of creation it was better decision I thought..


birth crtez.jpg

So, when drawing was done, I decided to give it a try on larger format, and started doing drawing for watercolor on 100x70cm.
For some parts on boys face I used Graphigum, because I wanted to be shure some parts of face stay white, and not to be covered with shades.


For those who haven't tried it, it could be pretty helpful. With it you can cover some parts you wish to stay covered and remain white. When it dries, it can easily be covered with color, but since it's part gum, no color will go to paper. Later you can just take it of with your finger, or with gum for deleting pencil. Try to use it in thin layers and immediately wash your brush with soap, otherwise you can trough it away.When Graphigum dries on brush, it becomes like sticky stone :(


It wasn't so quick watercolor work, it took some time but at the end I was satisfied with outcome.


2.jpg


majska1.jpg


It was also bit hard to take good photo of such large size, colors on eyes details are more realistic.
Some of color used for it, and the brushes I usually work with. Also photo of Graphigum.


BeFunkyCollage.jpg

Sort:  

Very good! I like your style a lot!

Thank you @jnart, I'm still not shure what my stile is :)being on so many sides ..

Yeah, I've also been told my style is good and don't have a clue what they are talking about. They maybe say I have a consistent style which I don't. I think consistent style is more of a conscious choice when you either never try new stuff or choose to create in a certain fashion. But what I mean is: you can paint like you did and it is cool :)

Thank you @jnart, I know what you mean by that, and I like to explore also, go to different subjects and techniques..that's why I'm always confused when people tell me to like my style.

Very nice! Watercolors are challenging, especially on faces, but you handled them beautifully.

Thank you @stillwatersart, i just love doing portraits.

it is amazing!

Thank you @christina.red :) Thanks for the bird :)

lovely art ! i think it looks more realistic than the pencil-sketch

Awesome ! Very nice work, the colours as well as the face expression :) I follow :)

Wow, it looks amazing!
If I could ask do you use a lot of water while painting to get this look? :)

Well, not so much, not that much I use when painting forests, but in portraits you have to know amount of water and color..It needs pratice :) And do it slowli, I don't rush ...you have some mine old posts explainig staf I do. Thanks for asking.

Wow, just looking down your blog. This is beautiful.
Resteemed

Thank you, same here :) enjoing your orchids :)

Love this, and think you must have enjoyed it, it's jut how it looks as if made with love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70