Art Improvement Meme (2002 - 2017)

in #art7 years ago

Hi there,

I thought a Throwback Thursday would be a good idea for my blog here, as with many artists we often only see who they currently are or what they currently do. It's much harder to understand how they got there, especially if one is not an artist themselves.

While I'm a professional for 6 years now ( I startet out after my Bachelor's Degree in 2012), I'm still far away from there I want to be with my skills. More than ever improvement requires a lot of time and practice. And the more I learn and know, the more obvious it is to me, what I do not know and haven't learned yet, which makes it harder to put all the work in perspective and see how far I've really come.
But that makes this meme valuable for me as well. It's not just a place to show others how art progresses across years (as we artists usually aren't born with our skillsets), it's also a chance to reflect on the good and the bad of the decisions one has made.

Looking back now, it seems like some of my most crucial years were during my time at University, where I picked up the digital media. Before I was drawing with coloured pencils and used water colours sometimes, but traditional media did feel tedious to me. Digital art was much more fun and I got into contact with a variety of great online communities and schools which helped my learning curve.

Since then things have slowed down though. I still try to concentrate on refining my basics, so that I can take on a variety of styles and topics whenever my clients ask me for work outside my obvious comfort zones. Taking these into consideration, my overall assessment becomes more positive. It's not something that can easily be shown in this format. Improvement isn't always a straight line. Sometimes it's a conscious branching out.

improvement_meme.jpg

Sort:  

The improvement is drastic! Those are some sick drawings too

Congratulations @juliametzger! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @juliametzger! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40