Wrinkle in time /// Original Art, energy blobs and Isaac Asimov for the collaborative art journey

in #art7 years ago

Once again @everlove has offered us a beautiful image to collaborate with, the title of the image this week was Wrinkle in Time, here is my final image:

collabtime3layers-01.jpeg

When I heard this title I started thinking about the many sci-fi books I read. One of my favourite sci-fi authors is Isaac Asimov and I recalled a book I read by him called The Gods Themselves. It's been quite some time since I read this book but I recall some scientists discovered another dimension and the beings on the other side were blobs of energy that fed off the sun, somewhat like plants. I highly recommend this book and I actually now want to read it again!

The cover of the copy I had is pretty cool too!

So here I was thinking of this theme and book and I decided to try to depict these beings but ended up adding a very human face. Hmmm, drawing blobs of energy isn't that easy.

Here are a few steps of the process.

This is the original image, I took this and inverted it as a starting point:

U5drKrfKpCRevayZB9N3gN3Qjg52ni6_1680x8400.jpeg

Next I painted this face, there seemed to naturally be an empty space for it.
collabtime1.png

I then rotaated the image and cleaned up and played with the layers just a tad. I found the colours slightly dull so after this I took it to a photo editing software and made some adjustments and the final result as you can see is the first image :)
collabtime3layers.jpg

To join the Collaborative Art Journey click here.

Sort:  

Julia!! you always hypnotizing me how do you do it? muah!

The faces you create are really amazing @juliakponsford. They have such a soft and silky feeling about them. The shapes are always so feminine. This is another amazing transformation, and such a great addition to our repertoire. Thanks for making this journey so much richer!

Thanks so much for the opportunity I always get excited when I see the post ❤️

Great! Your enthusiasm and skill are so very welcomed here. Thank you for sharing yourself with us @juliakponsford! <3

I love asimov. Actually @winstonalden got me into scifi years ago when we first met. I was always thankful for that.

Great minds think alike! I turned the image the same way as you. It must have just spoke to us that way. And I felt the same too, the face. I can't help but put a figure in everything! :)

I love her solemn expression and the empty eyes, it's very surreal. Well done. I love contests! To me really, it's just like fun art school homework. I love seeing all of us interpret things in our own style. Well done Steemit again!

One of my favourite Scifi books, though it isn't Asimov, is A canticle for Leibowitz by Walter M Miller

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60625.81
ETH 2406.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61