I got accepted to sell my art on the Super Rare Marketplace and shortlisted on Known Origin :D

in #art6 years ago

blockchainart.jpg

In the last few years blockchain projects have been exploding in every direction, there are almost too many to keep up with! This is a fantastic thing though, people are finding increasingly creative uses for this technology and as an artist and musician I've had my eye on quite a few projects.

I finally took the plunge and applied to sell my art with superrare.co and was pleased to receive an acceptance email and some instructions on how to begin.

Super Rare

If you have never heard of this project, this is the basic idea:

SuperRare is a platform to issue, collect, and trade rare digital art backed by non-fungible tokens on the Ethereum blockchain. When art is added to SuperRare, it is tokenized, meaning a new, unique token is generated and deposited in your wallet. The token is linked to the artwork, and represents a permanent record of provenance and ownership of the artwork. The token is what people buy when they purchase your art.

This is really exciting because it opens up a whole new market for digital art, due to the transparency of the blockchain the authenticity and original creator can be tracked through the chain!

A pic of the gallery:
Screen Shot 2018-10-15 at 1.30.16 PM.png

Known Origin

I also set up an account at knownorigin.io and got an e-mail telling me I was shortlisted! Knownorigin has a similar concept:

Artists create digital artwork (Jpg or GIF file) that can be submitted for consideration to KnownOrigin.io gallery. All files are held decentrally on IPFS. All assets are given unique identifiers which can be tracked with provenance maintained. Collectors can buy rare, digital assets with crypto and let the KODA smart contracts handling splitting commission. No middleman are required, artists will immediately receive payment directly to their crypto wallet.

A pic of the gallery:

Screen Shot 2018-10-15 at 1.52.20 PM.png

So I have been accepted which is all well and good, now I am having a bit of analysis paralysis about what art to submit, lol! I have decided to make new pieces for my first submissions so I will be blogging about them when I they're ready.

Sort:  

Yayyy, nice Julia. Love your art.

Such a talented alien. :)

That is awesome Julia so happy for you. Your art is awesome!!

It’s interesting concept although a thief could just screenshot or copy someone else’s work and then “tokenize” it and then claim they are the creator. Also someone can just create similar art and then tokenism the toke toke and bamo, anothe “original” art.

It is interesting but I find the premise that it would somehow secure an artists work. If that’s it’s intent, although it may somewhat achieve it, it won’t really curtail copying.

Although it is an interesting concept, I think it would be better achieved giving the artist a token and attach it to every piece they create.

Yes, this has recently happened with a work by XCOPY, sold on Super Rare, then remade at Digital Art Chain...

Glad to hear you got good things going on, Julia! You definitely are one of the most talented and hardest working people I know and you are so devoted to the promotion of blockchain platforms and blogs that you definitely contribute a LOT to mass adoption! Keep up the Great Work and enjoy reaping the rewards of your labour... :D

Heya, I've been publishing art to Super Rare for a while now and I'm wondering why you would want to publish to both Super Rare and Known Origin?

Seeing as Known Origin takes 1/4 of the primary sale as commission while Super Rare takes only 3% on secondary sales (+ giving the original artist 10%), I thought the choice was a no-brainer. Is there some advantage to Known Origin that I am missing?

I will say my experience publishing art to the blockchain has been great so far. I think this is a really interesting way of giving artists new revenue paths!

It's a good question, they might have different customers looking at the art so it seems like a good idea to use both, maybe I will prefer one over the other but I may as well test them out :)

Hi, I'm represented by Known Origin and I'm with them because of the sense of community, most of all. That and I really relate to a blockchain gallery that was self funded by 3 friends with a vision and a pub table.

Drop by Telegram (https://t.me/knownorigin_io) to get a feeling of what I'm saying :)

(I am also a great fan of Super Rare and one day I might send them an application)

Congratulations Julia, you are very talented and you have a beautiful art that God will continue to enlighten you

I have to check these both out. I wonder if there will be a list to be put on , if I'm lucky, by November? I can't veer off my lists this month of to-doing ;)

Also congrats! This is the future of art.

Congratulations Julia :>)

This sounds exciting and very interesting!
Please keep us updated on the further developments.

Late, but I'm new around Steem so... welcome to KO!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01