Futurism Artstyle 8 / My Submission and Process

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Russian building 08-01.jpeg

This is my submission for Artstyle 8, the theme of the challenge is Futurism and to use Russia as an inspiration! I have completed this piece using digital painting on a tablet, the software is infinite painter.

I'm not quite sure I pulled off the style, I have never quite tried something like this but I very much enjoyed the challenge. As usual participating in challenges on Steemit has made me push myself to try new things. While looking for an inspiration I googled Russian architecture and came across this cool looking cubist building (both are cool but I chose the one on the right):

image source: http://www.damncoolpictures.com/2008/06/crazy-russian-architecture.html

Here are the steps of my process, first I did the line work, I didn't document the next step but I duplicated it and overlaid slightly off the original.

Russianbuilding1.jpg

Next I started the colouring process, I was kicking myself at this point for making it so complicated.

Russian building 04.jpg

Now comes the background, I did a line drawing of the sun and rays and started filling them in with patterns and doubled and tinkered with the buildings a bit. The original colour palette has a day look.

Russian building 07.jpg

Finally I played with the hues and added a slight blur to the background and we are full circle at the final result which has more of a night sky look.

Russian building 08-01.jpeg

I want to thank @askinya for this challenge it is fun to participate in or just look at the results because it brings out so much creativity in people. Here is the contest, come join or take a look :) https://steemit.com/artstyleart8/@aksinya/8th-artstyleart-theme-announcement-futurism-moscow-or-russia-35-sbd-to-give-away#comments

Have a lovely weekend <3

pinkgifdeluxe.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vachemorte from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow this is beautiful:)

Thank you it is certainly outside of my normal style but I might explore it more!

I like the background design a lot, although I think the day version is better. I can't put my finger on what it reminds me of.

The day version definitely pops a bit more because of the color contrast I guess, I went back and forth between the two, every step is such a hard decision :)

That is awesome!

Thanks errymil :-)

This is brilliant art! 🎨

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81