HELP ME CHOOSE!

in #art6 years ago (edited)

I have a decision to make, and I’m going to do something that’s a little funky. I’m going to ask for your help and input.

I’m a writer and comic creator, but I can’t draw worth a damn. That means I have to hire artists to adapt my words into visual awesomeness. I am just beginning my journey on the way to publishing a (semi) historical graphic novel about the trial and execution of Socrates in ancient Athens. I’ve recently had a bunch of artists submit their work to join my team, and I’ve narrowed the candidates to a Final Four.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes decisions can be excruciating. Especially when you have to decide between some clearly talented individuals. So I’m asking the Steemit community to weigh in: who would be your top pick​ out of the art samples below?

A few things to keep in mind: these samples are black and white inked pages, rather than final colored and lettered pages; apart from talent, I also have to weigh details like price and language barrier (some candidates are from another country); but based solely on the artist’s craft and style, who’s your top pick?

#1.

SamirSample.jpg
Source

#2.

GianSample.jpg
Source

#3.

GeneSample.jpg
Source

#4. (this last one the artist sent me finished pages - so try not to let that weigh your vote!)

DanielSample.jpg
Source

Thanks for all your comments and feedback! I’m brand spanking new to Steemit, and I plan to share my progress as I move forward with this graphic novel - so if that sounds like it could interest you, give me a follow!

Sort:  

Your art is really really nice, i hope to get to that level of inking someday ^^

Hi imaginalex - I just want to clarify - these are samples of separate artists - not me. :) But I agree, they are all pretty awesome.

I agree #2 hands down. Great composition & draftsmanship and the style just screams that it’s the best fit for the planned story. I’ll have to take a few minutes and peruse more of their websites... I’ll remark again if someone changes my mind!
Great to have you here and showing this process. I love seeing projects develop!

Thanks - that's awesome to take a look at their pages. I tried to select what I thought was the artist's best sample - but that too is subjective. :)

Definitley #2, though they are all very talented.

I agree with everyone's reply (so far) #2 is my pick for the artistry alone. The style seems like it would best fit your subject matter as well.

Number 2 I draw the most emotion from but I really enjoy the colour in the last one.

Okay - wow! Looks like it's unanimous. I must say, I'm a little surprised everyone is in absolute agreement. I was definitely leaning toward #2 - especially considering, as many of you mentioned, the style probably​ will work best for the historical realism of the story.

At the same time, as I was uploading the art to this blog post, I was like, oh, wow, that's really pretty good. Wait, this one is good too! Heh.

Thanks for your help!

They're all good but I like #3 the most.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68313.70
ETH 3663.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66