A Portrait I Painted of Cara Delevingne + Process Video

in #art7 years ago

Hi there my awesome Steembros and Steemettes! So this here's a digital portrait I painted of Cara Delevingne. To create this piece I used a Wacom Cintiq and Clip Studio Paint.

For those of you who don't know Cara Delevingne (not sure how that's possible but..) she's a model/actress/writer/singer/everything!!!! Ok mainly just model/actress, but one might say she dabbles in many areas. HA "dabble" what a strange word. Anyway she's a pretty cool chick so I decided to borrow her face as practise to level-up at my favourite hobby of all time. Here's the result :)

Cara Fanart dgdfsh 1i.jpg

Process Video:

As a little side note, I find creating things from my imagination more satisfying than copying a picture, but I do paintings like this to help me improve my visual library. My next drawing will definitely be an original character straight from my imagination :D

Hope you like it! Don't forget to help a steembro out by voting, commenting your thoughts or resteeming this post <3

Sort:  

grate exercise, I don't have patience at all with digital painting, most unknowing assume that it is easier than traditional painting but to me it takes three times more and it feels like I am painting on the largest scale where every detail is visible

Haha yes I get what you mean, indeed I find a lot of people who have never touched digital art consider it "cheating". While it can be true that certain aspects make parts easier, there are also other aspects which make it more challenging. There is definitely a learning curve to the software, that's for sure. I thoroughly enjoy both traditional and digital mediums, I mainly just do digital art because it means I don't have to worry about going out to buy canvases, paints, brushes, etc... then create a huge mess in my room lol

that and the undo button, command that I shout at my canvas sometimes :)))

This looks like a photo, you are really good in that drawing stuff.

Thanks!! :D

This is a very nice piece! Well done! I look forward to seeing more of what you have in store! What are you working on currently? You said you prefer not to do work from pictures, so what do you prefer to create? Do you have a specific genre you gravitate toward?

Yes for sure! I'd say fantasy and sci-fi with a touch of the ol anime style is my kinda genre. Ideally I'd like to get really good at sci-fi but I'm better with organic shapes at the moment so fantasy designs come more naturally. The artist Krenz Cushart is a huge inspiration to me and the Final Fantasy universe is super inspiring as well, so that kinda direction... I've just finished a new original piece actually. I'll post it soon :D

Very cool. SciFi is just adding wires and stuff to your fantasy characters. Haha

If you want to get into the SciFi stuff, this guy is a great follow https://steemit.com/@svdsdragunov. Does some terrific SciFi work.

Amazing job! Almost looks like a photograph.

amaizing man !!! you have sooo beatiful tecnic ..
blessings

You artwork it's amazing, I'm follow u!

OOooo such a good work!
Best regards @homeworld from Slovenia!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74