Hair Drawing

in #art6 years ago

I am doing a hair drawing study, previously I just learned a new technique on how to draw a more realistic rendering of the hair.
I used the range of pencils: hb,3b,4b,8b,2h
I used a blending stump.

So I started by drawing the outline of the hair, then I used a light medium pencil like the 2h to fill in the base.
I left the highlights blank, then I used a dry brush to blend the shading all over.
20180828_090007.jpg
As you can see in the image above, I started applying the dark areas of the hair, a 3B pencil is best suited for the dark areas. I use back and forward strokes to apply the dark areas.
20180827_220527.jpg
After applying the strokes to the base with a 3B and 4B, I used a blending stump to blend the shadings, and an eraser to create the highlights.
20180827_194229.jpg
After rendering the base I moved to the top of the hair. The top of the hair has more highlights because lights comes from the direction of the top. I fill in the highlights with a 2H again and the dark areas I fill using graphite powder.
20180827_145836.jpg
Then I used a 3b again and a 4b to make the hair strands darker and an eraser to pull the highlights.
20180827_145121.jpg
THE FINAL IMAGE.
I INTEND TO MAKE MORE HAIR DRAWINGS.BECAUSE I WANT TO STUDY DIFFERENT HAIR AND HOW THEY ARE TO BE RENDERED IN A REALISTIC PORTRAIT.

Sort:  

Congratulations @joshemmas! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97