Chainsaw carving competitions I founded and took over

in #art7 years ago

So this year in August will be my 10th year as a chainsaw sculptor. I've got to say that it is an amazing art form and even more amazing are the people within the industry. Something about carving makes for some cool, levelheaded individuals. I know when I'm carving it's almost as if I'm meditating. A form of therapy if you will.

Anyway I want to talk about my opportunity in helping the industry grow. In 2012 I was invited to be sponsored by my chainsaw dealer and represent them at a local logging show, the NYS Woodsmen's field days. Well I went there and setup to sell my work and carve a little to put on a show/entertain. If you've watched anyone carve, it can be very entertaining.
I walked around the event and noticed there were other carvers on the grounds and I thought, how cool would it be if we held a competition here. Since carvers already come every year and people know that when they come to the event. Did some research and found the email address of the board of directors. Emailed them with my idea and they loved it, so the meetings commenced. They said if I could prove myself in the first year then we could continue building it into an annual event.
Here is a video of our first year:

The carvers had 9 hours on and off to complete their masterpiece chainsaw only. Which would be judged at the end. They could keep their masterpiece to take home or sell to anyone interested. They also had to carve in 2, one hour quick carves over the weekend (not in the video) which they had to donate to the event. These were auctioned off immediately after the quick carve event. Funds from this were used to pay the prizes and other expenses.
We were successful in pulling it off! The proceeds covered all expenses with some left to spare. Profits are good.
Our second year we had changed the rules to all tools, meaning they could refine and paint. We doubled the proceeds from the previous year, however there was some controversy over what was thought to be unfair judging.
Here's some photos of some winning pieces...couldn't get video because I was overwhelmingly busy haha...
FB_IMG_1523004678425.jpg

FB_IMG_1523004690451.jpg

FB_IMG_1523004736078.jpg

It was elbow to elbow at the quick carve auction:
FB_IMG_1523004894519.jpg

We also had a Stihl film crew come and interview Aya Blaine, she was competing but sponsored by Stihl and they wanted to interview her at our event. She most definitely represents:

Our 3rd year was again, a big hit. Doubled the proceeds. But we didn't go without more controversy over judging. So this was the final year we had judges. Video here:
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=924796800947723&id=835848623175875

The 4th year we went with different rules. The carvers had all weekend to produce as much as possible. Everything they carved was auctioned off and they got 50% of proceeds. The rest was used for prizes and other expenses. With profits leftover. They did however, have to carve a masterpiece that would be judged by the people(people's choice) and the carvers themselves(carvers choice.) We had tripled the proceeds from the previous year. Heres a video from that year, sorry I don't know the person who filmed it:

Here's another:

And last year again broke records in proceeds, our 5th year with some excellent artists. I had hired someone to film it but haven't received the footage yet...let's just say I won't be hiring him ever again. All I have is pictures posted to my event page on Facebook here:
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1493276624099735&id=835848623175875
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1493646594062738&id=835848623175875

And a video I posted to the page:
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1494152867345444&id=835848623175875

There is another event that I run every summer as well, which is a qualifier for this one. A long running event that I took over a few years ago because it was failing. In fact it is the longest running event in the country. Has been through many hands in it's 20+ years. You don't let that one fail if you had the opportunity to help. So I jumped in, and so far so good. Apparently I'm pretty good at running these things. Breaking records every year. Here are a few photos and video:

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=677336465794874&id=486258371569352

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=677921869069667&id=486258371569352

This is my world, I love everything about this art form and I'm happy to share here on Steemit.
Thank you,
Jon

Sort:  

Wow am amazed. So much talent keep up

Your very talented in your carvings, really love the one with the bears, raccoon and owl,big thumbs up from me 👍

That was carved by a competitor in the event. A very talented carver and good friend who had unfortunately passed away recently. But thank you for the comment.

Awww 😔sorry to hear that, least your friends work will go on to show their talent for years to come

This post is resteemed and upvoted by @bestboom

we all belong 100% we just say that past 20 years on the earth plane because we've had troulbe at times quite massively intergrating the ascension energy that we actually 100% are asking 4. the unvierse always grants u your wishes its fucking us after all!

This gives me faith in humanity.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66