A little whittling in the Woodlawn

in #art6 years ago (edited)

So last year I was hired to carve an oak stump at the Woodlawn Cemetery in the Bronx NY for an earth day event they were having. I made a good impression apparently because they hired me for this year's event for the same. Except it is 2 trees this time. Pushing my boundaries a bit as my arms are killing me after the first one. Here I am at the end of day 2:

IMG_20180419_164014389_HDR.jpg

A little gif video for ya...
20180419_194312.gif

IMG_20180418_073447783_HDR.jpg
Here's what it looked like before I cut it, you can see the other tree in the background.

IMG_20180419_164052474_HDR.jpg
I have just a little sanding to do left on the owls and then tomorrow I'll start on the other stump.
I'm filming both projects but the video will come at a later date as some editing is in order. I hope you like my post. If so feel free to upvote and resteem. Thanks for looking

Sort:  

Wow you got skill

This is sensational. I love the extra bit of whimsy with the inclusion of the baby owls.

dam! thats a big job. that before and after photo with the scafolding to the one in front of the owl is such a big transformation

Thank you here's another during the process, very big at 11ft tall...sharp saws make for easy cuttinIMG_20180418_165006680_HDR.jpg

Oh man, this is fantastic. I mean, on every level, this is a primo work of art. I admire the texture, the mother owl's stance, the owlets' curiosity... And I'm taken by the symbolism. The owl so nicely guards the thin veil between life and death, I believe. Your artwork is rich in meaning, as well as being artistically stunning.

These are really cool! You must have made quite tree impression on them for them to have you come back!!!

Thank you yes, here's the piece I did for them last year, needs some refreshing but holding up wellIMG_20180417_155350518_HDR.jpg

You're such a talented artist

Wow thats so awesome!!

Excellent job! :)

Great work and fine art *

Wow! Creativity really has no limits

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64269.55
ETH 3490.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53