All Eyes On You w/ Process (Traditional, Ink and Markers)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

"All Eyes On You"

9"x12"

Tools:

Pigma Micron 03
Deleter Neopiko-line-3
Deleter Black 4 Ink
FW Artists Ink
Art-N-Fly Alcohol Based Markers
Copic Colorless Blender

Final.jpg


Process:

No pencil work on this one, just ink from the start to end of the line work. Drawing eyes and teeth without under drawing doesn't bother me too much.

20180216_220513_HDR.jpg

20180216_224910_HDR.jpg

20180217_201928_HDR.jpg

20180218_013805_HDR.jpg

About here I had to switch to a smaller Pigma Micron for the smaller details. Then using a brush to fill in the black space with deleter black 4, afterwards using FW artists ink and a dip pen to dot the stars.

20180218_212726_HDR.jpg

20180219_210129_HDR.jpg

Then on to color! I'm slowly killing my markers as I move forwards so my color palette is starting to dwindle a little bit. I start with light colors then move on to darker colors before blending them together with a colorless blender.

20180221_165828_HDR.jpg

20180221_183725_HDR.jpg

20180222_023129_HDR.jpg

3+ Hours of blending later (lots of small details in the color this time) and i'll call it finished.

Final.jpg


Other social media you can find me.

Sola - Instagram


footer.png

Sort:  

This is dope. Curious if this has anything to do with a Salvia trip? or DMT? I get some heavy vibes from those realms in your work. Keep it up my man.

Thank you! I'm happy you enjoy it.
A few years back I had a really good mushroom trip that I remember seeing something like this in the darkness, my drawings with lots of eyes fused together are definitely in reference to that. though generally my drawings aren't references to personal trips, I do like to think of my drawings as illustrations of drug trips/spiritual experiences.

Thats awesome! I think you nailed the psychedelic/spiritual, yet mysterious feeling you have on a lot of these substances. I try and do the same with my work, so its always really cool to find someone trying to communicate the same sort message. Keep on trucking my friend, really excited to see all the beautiful work yet to come through you.

Thanks man, the feedback is appreciated! I went and took a look at your work as well, and i'm looking forward to watching your growth here, You have some stunning work. Those weapon designs are amazing, Love the otherworldly tentacle sword!

aah so perfect! a single picture that speaks a thousand words :)

Thanks! I prefer pictures to words any day haha

hahahaha i'll keep in touch :)

Really nice! I like the sort of teeth spiral thing...

By the way we finally got those markers you told me about and it is funny how the colors sometimes don't match all that well with the color on the cap! There are two light grey ones that didn't work until I just figured they were probably the bleders maybe?

We still have to play around wowith them.

Thanks

Thank you! I have a weird infatuation with teeth and eyes haha.

The matching issue is a bit odd, but other then that I really prefer these markers to copics, can't get copics to go down without showing brush strokes for the life of me.
The CG 0.5 and the WG 0.5? They have little pigment in them so it's hard to notice them on paper. There should be a colorless marker that came with it with a 0 on the cap specifically for blending.

Thank you for your help once again! I'll play around with them soon again for sure. And yes I think we have the CG 0.5 and the WG.

I must say, This is so good !!
The best one I saw this morning.:)
keep it up pal !!

Thank you! I'm happy you enjoy it!
There's always more on the way!

looking forward to those more :D

Great drawing and appreciate the process you shared with us, it is always useful to get some insight into the artist's mind. This picture reminds me of a fractal I posted in the past:
Why are they watching me?

Thank you! I love seeing an artists process, give you a better feel for the artwork I think.
I see what you mean with that fractal. It looks like a cluster of eyeballs, it reminds me of the descriptions of Yog-Sothoth.

no pencil - ink from the start: that's the best way to do it, be spontane. I find myself if I plot too much, it is out of my system and I stall.

Agreed, I always overthink when i'm drafting with a pencil. starting with ink forces me to stand behind the marks i'm making because they're permanent.

this is true - I should do more with ink myself. Some of my best drawings were done with a dip pen. My tool of choice is pencil, but all the way, not for plotting or sketching. I use kneaded erasers and electric erasers for special effects, but not to undo something. I paint with acrylics also, and when they are dry, they are permanent, like, almost: you can reconstitute them with alcohol and thus wipe them off, but disturbing the layers is not the best idea, it shows.

My tool of choice was pencil for a long while as well, only recently have I gotten in to ink. I really enjoy deep blacks and contrast between line work and empty space, so ink is really scratching that itch for me. I haven't done much painting with acrylic but it always seemed to have the same effect of standing behind the marks you make because of it's quick drying nature of the paint.

Very cool, mate. Great details and the inking is bold and detailed. The colours are nicely done, as well.

Thanks! I'm happy you enjoyed my work.

Dear Artist @johnfist ! This post has been resteemed and upvoted from FineArtNow account ! See you soon !

This post was super cool! The art is awesome. I appreciate the process more than you know! This work reminds me of MADBALLS. I look forward to checking out some more of your art!
Steem On My Friend!

Thank you! I'm happy you enjoyed the process pictures.
I used to love MADBALLS as a kid, I totally forgot about them. haha

I have been doing process posts as well! I wasn't sure if you knew MADBALLS or not... I almost threw a link in there just in case! Awesome that you know! Hahaha maybe they were a sub or unconscious inspiration for part of this one?!?
=)

Nice! I'll have to check those out.
MADBALLS are pretty awesome, I always loved their designs and it wouldn't surprise me if they had left a subconscious imprint in my artworks. haha

They were up there with Garbage Pail Kids and M.U.S.C.L.E. Men!
I loved the 80's... good times! Just watched the commercial and cringed pretty good! hahaha (don't upvote this comment to save some voting power! )

Oh man, Garbage Pail Kids were awesome, Such a great reference to the cabbage patch kids. I definitely prefer the Garbage Pails Kids.
(I have an issue with wanting upvoting all the good comments I get, including responses haha R.I.P my voting power.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34