Sort:  

"Creative limitations are great catalysts for innovation" - I agree. Every time you give yourself limits or deadlines, you become more creative.

"Artists are innovators and creative problem solvers, and its worth pointing out that when there are no problems to solve, creativity and innovation can be slow in coming. "
I completely agree. This bit in the intro really captured my attention for the rest of the article. Now I know, that as an artist, maybe I don't need to focus so much on what to make, but what to invent or envision. This served as a good reminder. Thank you!

Wow I love this so much. Thinking about art history from this perspective makes a lot of sense, and I think it is easy to intuitively grasp it when looking at the evolution of different styles in the past, but where I think this post really shines is turning that observation into a forward looking process of creation and discovery. The same things that drove past artistic experimentation are of course alive today, but I think it is harder to see it - we are caught up in the minutia of details when it comes to our own art and the art of artists we follow - I think this post gave a nice overview, and then allows us to step up onto that overview and look at modern art and (if the reader is an artist) our own art from that vantage point. Thinking about what problems you are trying to solve with art, thinking of creative limitations as a catalyst for innovation - this is awesome! Every time I read one of your posts it provides great food for thought. You rock.

Much love - Carl

Thanks ! Love your work as always. The block is a struggle and sometimes you just don't feel it. I find its better to head out into nature and clear your head when that happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67551.75
ETH 3252.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65