Of The True Self - A Pen Portrait

in #art6 years ago

image

Of The True Self
Pen on paper
Jaundré M. van Breda
2018

I created this surreal self-portrait with gel- and ballpoint pen on A3 200gsm paper.

I wanted to express what I feel rather than what I look like. I feel I'm divided in two (the what-you-see part and the what-I-am part).
People see someone "normal", but OCD is a big part of what I am. It has shaped me over the years like a pebble in a rushing river.

I used two separate photos and combined them as one:

image

image

image

I used the final image above as a reference for my portrait. I feel that this is the best way I could represent myself on paper.

Here are pics showing my progress at various stages:

image

image

image

image

image

image

Sort:  

Very nice portrait, the details as you merged both faces!

Thank you very much. It was quite a challenge, even with the reference pic.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

A very interesting portrait.

I can imagine looking at this portrait somewhere during an exhibition and discussing with others what we think about it. It is very interesting, I like how you combined the images. Thank you for sharing!

Thank you very much!

Beautiful! and I'm so glad this theme allows me to get to see some of the users here :)

I'm no oil painting though, lol. Thank you for hosting these wonderful contests.

Really nice portrait of both of you, the side you and the front you! :D Love your style, Juandre ! The way you shade and produce definition with your pen is A M A Z I N G <3

It's ALSO nice to see more posting more these days <3 <3 <3

Thank you! Life is just so hectic sometimes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34