A Home in Paterna - 2steemCreated with Sketch.

in #art6 years ago


In last week's post, I wrote about an extraordinary Mediterranean house in Paterna, a small town on the outskirts of Valencia. I also posted a photograph of an oil on canvas I had painted in a corner of the garden. The work was a gift for Toti Romero and her husband, Manolo Blasco, who, over the years, had generously allowed me to stay in the house during the summers of some of my visits to Spain. The house was not simply a house. Toti had grown up in it; it had been the center of her life throughout her childhood and adolescence, so it still remained very much her home, even though, for most of the year, she and Manolo and their daughter Elena lived in a spacious flat in Valencia.

The offering of her childhood home to me as a place to live was a gift of generosity and trust that still leaves me, who loves words, without words. I can write about her home and paint images of it, but words of gratitude are inadequate. So are paintings. Even so, in this post I'd like to share with you two images of one of the rooms in the home that became my home.

After several sketches, here's one that's fairly developed, which is to say that I was finally able to accurately depict the floor, the windows and chairs, the glass on the table and the sculpture on the mantle. Getting the details right has always been important in what I paint, because if I can't depict things realistically, how can I expect anyone to believe the strange images of my dreams? Accuracy is fundamental.


Our Lady of July Sketch - Pencil, watercolor - 12 x 15 inches

As you can see from the finished painting, the biggest challenge was revealing the Mediterranean light sifting through the wisteria into the room. Light, as usual, is what captured my attention in the first place. Light permeates everything; getting it to reflect off the floor tiles, the tables and mirrors, the lamp and the statue and the glass of wine were some of the great pleasures in painting the image.

At some point, I realized that the painting needed something else, a someone, a figure, so I asked Elena to pose for me. Her gift.

For a long time, during the weeks it took me to finish working, I didn't know what the title of the painting would be. There were two women present: Elena and the statue. Then gradually I noticed that I had unconsciously implied the presence of a third person: Elena had sat in one of the chairs. Who had occupied the other? The statue?

So I titled the painting "Our Lady of July" in honor of the one who was absent, but still very much present.


Our Lady of July - Oil/canvas - 23 x 33 inches


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://johnmichaelkeating.com/2018/09/21/a-home-in-paterna-2/

Sort:  

This was a beautiful painting with a lot of emotions inside. I could felt you paint it with love. Inside the picture, I could felt the peaceful and loneliness of Elena? She seems waiting for someone. I love how you drawn the light shinning and reflected on the floor, wall and door. A beautiful work @ jmkartworks. Thank you for sharing with us your lovely "Our Lady of July"

I apologize for taking so long to respond to your thoughtful words, oliviackl because I'm just now beginning to understand how steemit works. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I appreciate them.

Hi jmkartworks,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you curie. I apologize for taking so long to reply, but all this is new to me.

What an evocative and enveloping climate is perceived in that painting! It's like seeing an old photo of something that no longer exists or is about to disappear under the veil of time.
Great poetic atmosphere that you have managed to paint, which tells us how special it's to be that house for all those who have lived in it.

You're right, nelsinho, the feeling of something precious disappearing was something I wanted to convey. Sorry for the delay in responding to your kind words.

Very lovely painting, John.  
                       
I love that you made it as a show of gratitude for the friendship and trust that your friends have given you. I could feel that you created this artwork by putting a lot of thought and positive emotions into the painting. Very lovely gift and I hope they receive it with great delights.        
                     
Congratulations on your first curie vote. Totally deserve it and I hope this is the first of many support for you on Steemit :).       

I'm sorry that it has taken me so long to reply to you, scrawly, but this technology is all new to me, so it has taken awhile. Thanks for writing. More posts are coming. I hope we'll stay in touch.

How sweet of you, John. And I'm glad that you stay around in here, despite the crypto downturn that is happening lately.
                       
I'm looking forward to your new artwork, I'm sure it will be another beauty :).


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Very beautiful painting, @jmkartworks ! I love the muted colours very much <3 The tiles on the floor is absolutely gorgeous, and I love how you are able to capture its coolness and textures so well <3 Beautiful lighting, gorgeous treatment of light and shadow in the canvas, entirely, and the detailing and finishing are absolutely wonderful <3

What a magical piece, John! Amazing work <3

upvotes and follows

As you can see, now that I'm getting acquainted with steemit, I'm replying to all the comments I hadn't known even existed. Thank you again for seeing the paintings.

I believe you will gain a lot more success when people can feel that you welcome their friendships, John :) I look forward to seeing a lot more warmth in the reception of your posts in the near future <3

Congratulations @jmkartworks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thanks, yormansss. Sorry for the delay in responding.

a painting that brings many memories the time is the enemy of the human being we only leave unforgettable traces, if I enjoy the story and the great drawing of @jmkartworks life is a fandango there is only to be carried away @neymarth10 peace and love

Many thanks for your words of encouragement, neymarth. Apologies for taking so long to respond.

That is a really beautiful painting, with so much feelings behind it, staying there must have been a delight, Toti must have been really kind and generous to want share that much of her life with you, it's incredible!! I believed you have built so many beautiful memories in this place which has now become your home....

I do love the painting slot, not only because it looks amazing but because of the feelings and though attached to it. Details makes all the difference, I'm glad you didn't compromise on that! 😃

Many thanks, audreybits, with apologies for taking so long to reply to your kind words. Yes, the feelings were what I most wanted to convey.

And you did just that!!😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62264.03
ETH 2431.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50