Art on Amphetamines

in #art8 years ago

The four years between 1996 and 2000 were horrible. In the midst of invasive infertility treatments, miscarriages and trying to finish the most elaborate book of my life, I hit a wall. It was so bad and debilitating I could not move for weeks. Depression is rotten to the core. It takes away anything good you may have and pisses it down the drain. And that is even assuming you know what good is anymore.

Do you think it's possible to live off of $10,000 for four years? It's not. Luckily it was "folly" money - the sum of my advance against royalties from North South Books (broken up into two payments, by the way). So much for the glamorous monetary rewards of children's book illustration. My husband had the real job and real family money that we were able to live on. I never intended this project to take four years. My books usually took about eight months to a year to complete. I wasn't worried about not finishing it when I said it would be done because my last book had done so well with this publisher. A bit arrogant now when I think about it. But that was also the depression talking. I could not shake the chronic darkness that sucked me dry. Losing twins after six failed IVF treatments had me lower than I could possibly imagine. I was only 28 - why the hell couldn't I get pregnant and stay pregnant?

Enter my new pharmacologist, and allow me to introduce Dexedrine, an elixir from the gods when stuck in a personal hell. Euphoria was instant.

Yes, I illustrated this book under the influence of amphetamines and hefty servings of wine. It still took four years, but never before did I get into such a painting groove, the likes of which I have not seen since. I easily put in 14-16 hour days huddled over my drafting table intoxicated by watercolor and hits of my new friend. I fell into the fantastical world of Hieronymus Bosch and the Flemish wonders of Hans Memling's triptychs that featured demons herding the damned souls down to the fiery pits of hell. Pieter de Hooch and Jan van Eyck's interiors were spread at my feet waiting to pop into the scenes. We all understood each other.

I'm not advocating the use of stimulants. But it was a ride. And they helped me survive, bringing me back from the edge of the cliff. At times I felt like leaping off. Sometimes we do what we need to do to make it out alive. I came through, and no longer rely on my drug of choice. But don't think I don't get a thrill whenever I hear pills rattling inside of their container. That's my Pavlovian response, I guess.

Twenty-six paintings, all in watercolor and gouache and a sprinkling of pixie dust. I made it through.

Can you tell?

Sort:  

These illustrations are so beautiful and provocative. Personally, I can tell that they require a special genius. I'm sure others must think the same. I can only imagine what kind of painstaking effort they must have required because I can not fathom creating anything this inspired myself.

I believe I speak for many when I say that I am glad you found the motivation to produce this work.

Thanks steemed. That means a lot-

Cant't tell, because not an art afficionado and have never done amphetamines, so don't know the vibe. Though the question made me think - it'd be interesting to do an experiment with a number of artists, having them each do a different collection of art on different drugs - and really see the difference the substances' influence make... :-)

Yeah - it would be quite remarkable. Could do it under influence of alcohol, but the clarity and focus from stimulants would bring out the psychedelic beasts in us all. May get too dizzy and slurry with booze -

I love this style of arts. it is easy and fun.

Really nice paintings - and yes, the right stimulant at the right dose can really add to the experience of being alive. Glad that they worked their magic on you, and that - apparently - you were wise enough to not abuse them, as that never leads anywhere good.

Great work of painting, I am charmed with it, I hope that your history is arranged and you have overcome the problems.
Luck and regards!

Thank you - I am in a much better place now. Much appreciated

Awesome art!

I enjoyed going through it with the GF.

Amphetamines can be GREAT tools for productivity and creativity..
However their addiction potential is massive and frequent use will eventually do brain damage if you redose over and over. Harm reduction is #1

Thank you! Yes, the abuse potential is great. And then you have tolerance. What works this week will require more next, and so on - not a good place to be.

Beautiful! Thanks for sharing :)

Nice and simple, thanks for sharing with us!

Cool paintings and an even cooler intro as I hope to hear more of these types of stories/struggles. Thanks!

These are insanely good illustrations! I am also touched by your story. May I know if you have a place where I can find more of your works? Or you can post more of them here! You and your artworks are inspiring....

Thank you so much for your kind words. I am working on my website, but will be posting here mainly. Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69